wake up

27 Mar

One of my church communities is going to Jamaica this summer. On a “mission” trip. I don’t begrudge them, and I am glad that people go on mission trips to far away places. However, in this economy, in these times, with this earth and the effects of global travel, I am more inclined to do mission in my own backyard, but that is just me (look for stories in the near future about a new thing starting with some of my anglimergent peeps, woo!). I am glad people are going far away places, and serving (G-d and neighbor) by helping to build wells and hospitals and the like.

But Jamaica? International human rights organizations (and others) have described Jamaica as one of the most homophobic places in the world. Read more here.

And now today, a post from my friend Choralgirl. *crack* (the sound of my heart breaking, loudly) I can only take hope in the promise that Love, is the greatest of these, and in the end, wins.

From CG: Transgendered in Zimbabwe

I don’t know how to even begin to imagine what life must be like for Tawanda. It’s a terrifying story.

Robert Mugabe is dangerous to Zimbabwe’s GLBT community, as evidenced by the combination of his power and his views on homosexuality:

…degrades human dignity. It’s unnatural and there is no question ever of allowing these people to behave worse than dogs and pigs. If dogs and pigs do not do it, why must human beings? We have our own culture, and we must re-dedicate ourselves to our traditional values that make us human beings…what we are being persuaded to accept is sub-animal behavior and we will never allow it here. If you see people parading themselves as lesbians and gays, arrest them and hand them over to the police!

Bigotry breeds violence–if not in the bigot himself, certainly in some part of his sphere of influence. And a significant component of Mugabe’s legacy in Zimbabwe is violent repression.

This is tragic.

Yes it is.

Lord in your mercy, __________________.

2 Responses to “wake up”

  1. Choralgirl March 27, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    Oh, sigh.

  2. Sally March 27, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    On mission trips, I agree with you!

    On Zimbabwe, I add my prayers

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,041 other followers

