Marketing schmarketing

So, over “lunch” I thought I would feed my brain a little. I checked in with www.faithink.com
Faith Inkubators is an organization in Stillwater, MN (a very cute little town indeed) that equips and trains churches and leaders to grow young people in to devoted followers of Christ. I took the head to heart training years ago, and found it to be a part of my foundational understanding of how young people learn. I highly reccommend them.

Anywho, a post from a few days ago from Rich Melheim reminded me of my growing interest in FRANK. In the marketing book (he often is pointing church leaders to look outside the walls of churches and into big business for the sake of growing the Kingdom) he reccomends, “Cluetrain Manifesto“, Rich highlights the following ideas.
1. Markets are conversations.

2. Markets consist of human beings, not demographic sectors.

Foundational. Simple even. Let’s say it all together, I am NOT a pledging unit! I am a human who has gifts and abilities to offer, who happens to be (enter your demographic label here).

We humans are not one-size-fits-all. Human beings are so complex, so different. What bridges us is conversation. The Lord’s Table is a place where conversation and re-member-ance happens, a silent, yet public conversation between God and human. In conversation, right and left (blue and red, democrat and republican, conservative and liberal, etc.) can share. In conversation, the Word/word has an opportunity to become flesh.

When conversation and dialog stops, we are left to assume the other persons position. And we all know what happens when we ass-u-me right?

2 thoughts on “Marketing schmarketing

  1. Hey, thanks for the mention. Like the looks of things in your little world.
    I hear you’re interested in marketing as it applies to the church.
    What do you know? How about your top ten list of things the church needs to know from the marketing world?
    rich

  2. So, what else is new in your world these days?
    I’m in Hartford helping my friend He Qi (www.heqigallery) speak at the Triennial Convention of the UCC. He goes on at 10:30, Barak Obama at 2:30. (Not bad company). We went to Mark Twain’s house this afternoon. Fun, but he wasn’t home.
    Sunday I’m throwing a party for He Qi at the Museum of Biblical Art, 1865 Broadway, from 2 – 4.
    Got any friends on Manhattan? Send ’em over!
    Hope all is well. I’m having a blast.
    (And when I return home I get to have an angiogram!)
    Ah… life. Enjoy it while you got it.
    Melheim

Comments are closed.