like a proud big sister should be

So yesterday, my brother, who is just so awesome, sent me and email. Here is (some of) what he said.

As I’m sure that some of you are aware, they will be voting today on
whether or not to constitutionalize a ban on gay marriage.  I HATE these
ignorant excuse for people.  The sad part???  A good number of
supporters say that its a bad idea because the next step after gay
marriage is……………. DUH, polygamy!!!  What the ____ else could
it possibly be??  Why are people like this allowed in public??  Why are
they allowed to breathe?  Most importantly, WHY THE ____ ARE WE LETTING
THESE IGNORANT-ONE DIMENSIONAL _________ MAKE DECISIONS, THAT AFFECT
EVERYBODY, BASED ON THEIR OWN UNEDUCATED FEARS?????????????  In the
words of the immortal Charlie Brown”AAAAAAAAAAAAAUUUUUUUUUUUGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH!!!”
Send me something people!!  Give me some hope that my daughter won’t
have this crap her shoved down her throat her whole life.  Ok I’m done,
have a nice day!

Ok – now I know this is harsh, and I had to censor some words. But I just cannot explain how blessed I am to have a family that grew up in suburbia and very well could have gone the other way on this issue. So the email went to the all the siblings, and Aunt Lori (who is their aunt, who’s family is squarely on the other side of this issue). This was Cassie’s (my youngest sister) response.

Hello My lovelies…..
As a wise man once said,”Ignorance is bliss.”
Our Lil Izzy, Bella, Bell Isabella will be raised by a man and a family who are many things; I guarantee none of those things include ignorance. My guess is that she will follow suit. My hope for her is that she will never fear something just because she doesn’t understand it. My hope is that she fears hate but from that fear, she does something to change it.

My hope is that she fears her first step until she realizes she has the courage
to get up, wobble, fall, try again and succeed.

She may fear riding a bike when she looks behind her to see that daddy isn’t
holding her up but that will also turn to courage when she sees that she lived
through it and eventually…she will be the fearless one telling her Daddy to
let go.

She will fear her first day of school until she knows how much fun it will be.

She will definitely fear her first tattoo until she realizes how cool they are
and how it only hurts for a minute (and when she sees how cute Joe is;))

She will fear sky diving until she steps out out the plane into the open air.

She will fear losing a loved one…..always but also know that she is strong enough to survive anything.

However, she will never fear people loving who they love just because it doesn’t exactly resemble the way she may love another……..come now, that is absurd:)

I am teaching this tomorrow in class….I think the last stanza is the important
part pertaining to our discussion.

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.
In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud,
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.
Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find me, unafraid.
It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.
William Ernest Henley
All of us are our own captains, including our new munchkin.
I am excited…….mom would be pumped.

Indeed, mom would be. What a great way to honor her life and birthday yesterday. Thank you God, for my family, and for bringing – for as short of a time as it was – us a wonderful, beautiful person Anne as a mother and example of what love can look like. Amen.

2 thoughts on “like a proud big sister should be

  1. it truly is a gift to have a family like that. It’s clear that your mother was a wonderful person, as it’s shown through her children.

Comments are closed.