Dying and growing and growing in dying

Surfing for some Gospel to chew on, some words of hope, and I tripped over this. Read it – check the whole blog out for sure. Brilliant.

The Gospel passage that she referrs to is an old favorite of mine. I first ran across it in my youth ministry days. Jesus tells us,

Tree17I tell you the truth,
unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only
a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. The man who
loves his life will lose it, while the man who hates his life in this
world will keep it for eternal life. John 12 24-25

I remember thinking – wow – what the hockey sticks does that mean? I think Eternal Echos sums it up really well. She (I think) says "Are we willing to die to our past glories, our pet projects and
nostalgia for how things might have been?"

Last night I was at a meeting for faith formation in the diocese of mn. the sum total of the meeting, we have no money but an abundance of wealth. We have to move out of the past – and into a new way of understanding formation. This is not Sunday School and high tech high energy church fluff we are talking about. This is transformational – leadership modeled – prayer infused – Gospel based – ministry. And we may never see the fruits of this labor. But because we all are committed to the future generations and what the church might look like then, we must die now.
Find value in our past stories, but not let them drive our future. So – today – I am dying. To myself,Wave my ego and my need to control everyone and thing around me.

I listen for what the Spirit is saying in the wind today – and try to catch that wave.


 

One thought on “Dying and growing and growing in dying

Comments are closed.