a pre-mothers day gift

It’s coming, Mother’s Day. If you notice a tone, and don’t recognize it, it’s flat.
Annies_whole_family_copy_1
It is no secret that this is still a painful day for me. The commercials, the marketing, all making me feel all that more alone, and wanting desperately to run and hide in bed and emerge Monday after it’s all over. I have been quietly praying for grace and peace during this week. Today, God answers. And always in true God form.
It’s a poem, from my beloved’s mother, written by one heck of an amazing woman (like my mom). More mom stories to come, thanks for not letting me hide.
Angeloucolor

Christians – By Maya Angelou 

When I say… "I am a Christian"    
I’m not shouting "I’m clean livin’."
I’m whispering "I was lost,
Now I’m found and forgiven."

When I say… "I am a Christian"
I don’t speak of this with pride.
I’m confessing that I stumble
and need Christ to be my guide.

When I say… "I am a Christian"
I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I’m weak
And need His strength to carry on.

When I say… "I am a Christian"
I’m not bragging of success.
I’m admitting I have failed
And need God to clean my mess.

When I say… "I am a Christian"
I’m not claiming to be perfect,
My flaws are far too visible
But, God believes I am worth it.

When I say… "I am a Christian"
I still feel the sting of pain.
I have my share of heartaches
So I call upon His name.

When I say… "I am a Christian"
I’m not holier than thou,
I’m just a simple sinner
Who received God’s good grace, somehow.

2 thoughts on “a pre-mothers day gift

  1. I came here because you signed my guest map. I will stay here because of your raw honesty in your writing. You are awesome!
    I would love to hear more of your mom stories.

  2. You ARE an amazing writer and thinker because it comes straight from the heart and the gut. That is not something that can be learned easily–although I try to teach it. Keep speaking from your place–clearly we are in need of your words!

Comments are closed.