And God made them, male and FEMALE

PbelectWOW.

I mean really, wow.  [Episcopal News Service] Katharine
Jefferts Schori, bishop of the Diocese of Nevada, has been elected June
18 by the House of Bishops as the 26th Presiding Bishop of the
Episcopal Church. The House of Deputies is discussing a resolution to
confirm the election, as is required by church canons. ENS will post
more information after that vote.

I will wait for more info from ENS, but there are just so many reactions I have right now. There was word on the wind earlier today that this might happen, but as a ploy from the "right" to further fraction our church. We have a number of international guests, and my first reaction was to look to them, see the look in their eyes, and gauge how they felt. The overarching theme that I am hearing is just plain shock.

I am proud to be a part of the Episcopal Church. We began ordaining women exactly 30 years ago this convention. 3 years ago The Rt. Rev. Gene Robinson was consecrated the first openly and honestly gay bishop. Some "radical" moves have happened within my big church. And if you were to ask me how I feel, right now, today, I would simply say, proud. Proud that we call upon the Spirit to lead us, and there are people who are radically open to listen and act.

At the Eucharist this morning, I heard my dear friend R.C. singing and began to weep. It was exactly three years ago that I was introduced to the Episcopal Church. It was R.C. who took me in, under his wing, and cracked the faith and life of the church and worship wide open for me. He led me around, introduced me to his friends and to opportunities I am not sure I would have stumbled into on my own. Frankly, I would not be here if it were not for him, and the sound of his voice reminded me today what a gift he is to me. My hope would be that I can do for others what he has done for me.

One thought on “And God made them, male and FEMALE

Comments are closed.