Open my lips

Today, is a down day. I am not sure why, but I feel it as strong as a mid-summer storm in Kansas City. The verse that keeps coming to me is from Psalm 51, the one that I used to read every Tuesday morning in staff meeting at the Cathedral.

Open my lips, O Lord, and my mouth shall proclaim your praise. Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence and take not your holy Spirit within me. Give me the joy of your saving help again and sustain me with your bountiful Spirit.

Dear God, give me a clean heart, one that is not mucked up with sad thoughts and sad feelings of worthlessness. Renew my spirit, so that I can get back to feeling like me again. Lord, give me the strength to get through the darker days, and help me to remember that you are with me, dark and light. Help me to remember to give you thanks in all things, even when I feel less than thankful. Above all, bless my friend Courtney and my brother Reggie, who’s hearts and faith are low. I ask this all in the name of the One holy and triune God. Amen.

4 thoughts on “Open my lips

  1. hey there…
    From an astrological/universe perspective, the moon just transited over your natal moon…lot’s of emotions, lots of internal stuff waxing and waning. This time will pass, very soon.
    I’m thinking of you…
    (partly cuz I’m feeling it too)

  2. Oh man…I could have written that cause I feel the same way. I made myself post my thankfulness list…it helps.
    I will pray for you and ask for your prayers sugar.

  3. There is a poem by Rumi that I love about looking at being human as a guesthouse and welcoming in all of the feelings that come to stay there a while, perhaps learning something new about ourselves in the process. I know when I have those down days I can spend a lot of energy resisting. A lovely prayer you offer here. Prayers for you and for those you love. Christine

Comments are closed.