It’s Friday!

I missed last week, shocking (see my previous post). So, it’s friday, time to get my five on.

Inevitable Independence Day Friday Five

In
the U.S., we’re heading into a holiday weekend as we prepare to
celebrate Independence Day. Although the topic of this meme may be
inevitable, independence never is, so it couldn’t hurt to stop and
think for a minute about independence in a general way and holidays in
a more trivial way.

1) Do you celebrate 4th of July (or some other holiday representing independence?)
Heck yes I celebrate. But my celebrations have very little to do with independance. Sadly, I should maybe celebrate what I am much better at: co-dependance. But that’s a different topic altogether.

2) When was the first time you felt independent, if ever?
I was living in St. Thomas, USVI. I was leaving MN of my own free will (I guess you could say I joined the military of my own "free will" if you consider getting told you will join "free will." Again, off topic.) and was thrilled at the chance to go. I went with my friend Jewels aka Julie. She had met this man on vacation in Mexico and was running off to join him in chartering huge mega yachts. She asked if I was in and I went.
So all was good until the money ran out (like 3 weeks in). I had very little, just the pack on my back and a space to sleep on a boat. I sat by the dock side every day, asking passer by’s if I could do any day labor for them. I was living hand to mouth. It was indeed the best of times and the worst of times. I think I blog some stories later.

3) If you’re hosting a cookout, what’s on the grill?
Going to a cookout and veggie burgers, veggies from the farmers market, and I am sure a bountiful feast from my other friends.
4) Strawberry Shortcake — biscuit or sponge cake? Discuss.
Biscuit. Hands down. I can’t diss the sponge cake, but biscuits are waaaayyyyy better here. Dense, sweet and crumbly heaven on a plate.
5) Fireworks — best and worst experience
Worst:  is there really a bad fireworks experience? I haven’t had one yet *knock, knock*
Best:  last year at home. I had saved up fireworks from the last time I was in Kansas City. So they were the really cool ones. chickens that shat fire out of their butts, rolling dragons, big fat rockets, funky roman candle like things. none of them come with an english description, so I have no idea what they were called. Anywho, my friends RC and Justin came over and we blew shit up on the driveway. Then, from the backyard, we were able to see what some call the best fireworks in all of Minneapolis, the Powderhorn Park fireworks. It was so nice, we had friends stop by, and a bunch of drinks, all in the safety in our own backyard. It was tre’ awesome.

For all of you 1776 (the broadway play) fans, there is a bonus 5 here.
Have a wonderful Friday, and for all who travel, be well, be safe and blessings be with you.
Amen.

One thought on “It’s Friday!

Comments are closed.