books books books

I decided to self tag, take a little chunk of time to focus on something other than everything else there is to do on my heaping piled up desk. Ready? Break!
BOOK MEME from Revgalblogpals from todays wednesday festival theme.

1. One book that changed your life?
BachIllusions by Richard Bach. My father gave it to me as a gift before leaving for the military. I carried it around for years, never cracking it once. I think I carried it around to look smart or look like I read. Well, years later, living in the US Virgin Islands, there it was. I had no job, no place to live. I had nothing. Sitting on the docks in St. Thomas, waiting for boats to come in so I could beg for work, I finally read the dang thing. I have never been the same since.

2. One book that you’ve read more than once?
Same as above. Oh and the Tao of Pooh. So good.

3. One book you’d want on a deserted island?
The b-i-b-l-e, yes, that’s the one for me. Most likely the Catholic study version, with lot of notes and stuff in it.

4. One book that makes you laugh?
Do books do that? Man I need to get some suggestions of a funny book to read, I don’t know that I have ever laughed reading before.

5. One book that made you cry?
Trinity, by Leon Uris. The story of an Irish people. Now this book was a rollercoaster of emotions.

6. One book you wish had been written?
I totally have to rip this one off from my former partner, it really is a brilliant idea. I truly hope she writes it some day. Butch Crocker: A sensible cookbook.

7. One book that you wish had never been written?
I am not sure, but literature that presents itself as "truth" about homosexuality and how it is something that can be healed are right up there on my list of wish I did nothave to have this discussion books / literature.

8. One book you’re currently reading?
Anam Cara by John O’Donahue and Here and Now by Henri Nowen.

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read?
So many, ugh. A new Kind of Christian – Brian McLaren is right up there right now. These were reccomended to me today. I have been meaning to get to 5 disfunctions for a while now. The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, Death by Meeting, The Five Temptations of a CEO, and his latest release, Silos, Politics, and Turf Wars.

10. Bonus: One book I just finished reading?
Mission Shaped Church

One book I need to read?
Need huh? 101 ways to get my life in order, get more sleep and love thy neighbor. Anyone know of that book?

3 thoughts on “books books books

  1. Book to read to make you laugh: A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson – it’s his story of his quest to complete the Appalachian Trail. It’s a laugh out loud book. Check it out!

Comments are closed.