It’s FRY-day

What a week! Began in Denver and is starting its downward decent into the weekend. It’s Friday all ya’ll, and its time for the Friday Five brought to you by Reverendmother at RevGals. Hang on – here we go!

Friday Five: Groups

1. Tell us about any group(s) you currently belong to. (e.g. book club, knitting circle, walking buddies, etc.) I just rolled off of the only "formal group" that I belonged to, the Young Adult Network Coordinating Committee. I will serve a while longer to hand over my notes and work on a new initiative, but for the most part, in the words of Jesus, it is finished. (No death or crucifixtion here). I am sad to roll off of this group, but I also know that it is a good thing. If pressed I would also say that I belong to a "circle of trust" with a group of really fine gals (M, E, C and R). We don’t gather with any sort of intentionality, though I wish we did. My sweetie and I also belong to a super small group – ROME (restaurant of the month experience) with one of our most favorite, best-est couple friends. I have been invited to be a part of an experimental liturgy group, and met with its conviener last night. This may be a group that I will connect to – although I am not sure why they want me as I am not a liturgy geek – I am more of a evangelism-relationships person. For now, I am hoping to join a group – but am just sort of drifting right now.

2. Do you feel energized or drained by being in a group situation? If the answer is "it depends," on what does it depend? Both. Funny – it does depend. I think it depends on the intentionality of the group. I am highly relational, and for the most part am energized by groups. But let’s face it, sometimes, groups can really take the wind out of you. My former senior pastor had a sign on his desk for years that read "God so loved the world that (he) God did not send a committee." For me, this could not ring any more true. Committee = death (for me).

3.
Is there a role you naturally find yourself playing in group
situations? That is, do you naturally fall into the leader role, or the
one who always makes sure the new person feels welcome, or the quiet
one who sits back and lets others shine, or the host?
Ask anyone who knows me, I am the host-ess with the mostest. My heart is all in creating the atmosphere in which good stuff can happen. I am the caterer, the set designer, the candle lighter and the one who never ever lets your cup run dry.

4. Handshakes vs. hugs: discuss.  Both. As a giver – I love both. Good touch, firm and fully present. As a receiver – hugs. For sure. A big, sincere embrace is cure for my most lonely days, sad days, joyous of occasions. Mmmmmm. Hugs.

5.
Ice breakers: a playful way to build community in a lighthearted
manner, or a complete and utter hell of forced fun and awkwardness?

It is so funny, I grew up with games. The one that I had a love/hate relationship with was "honey if you love me, won’t you please please smile?" I did ok with this one, but now looking back, I remember being horrified that we had to play it. For any introvert – it was a nightmare. It’s amazing how as kids, without knowing it, we would alienate people. People with physical limitations, emotional limitations, kids who would die if they had to sit on someone else’s lap. I was not one of them, but I cannot imagine as a now "grown-up" responsible adult, letting young people play games like this. So – I vote utter hell. Yes, utter hell for 200 please.

FunandgamesBonus: If you answered "playful and lighthearted," share your favorite ice breaker.
Bummer, no bonus for me this week. Ok – I’ll cheat. While in Denver, my friends played telephone. I LOVE this one. The phrase came from my friend E’s shirt which read "It’s all fun and games until someone loses a wiener."

3 thoughts on “It’s FRY-day

Comments are closed.