Back at it

Well, I have been back at work for two days now. Everything feels lighter. I think I needed the time away to get reconnected to love: loving my partner, my job, people in general.

The mundane tasks of the office coordinator/chick at the front desk can be rather dull. Today, I opened my email to find what I am sure has been there before. Notes from people that I have done some task for, thanking me and emails from people that I have emailed – and I just await their reply. Today so far two amazing things have happened. One, my eyes have a fresh gloss of love coating them and two, I have been reminded of God’s amazing, radical, wonderous love and grace.

I got an email from someone who had a quote from Mike Yaconelli on their signature. He did not attribute it to him, but reading it, I immeadiately knew who’s words it was. It was slightly misquoted, so the original quote was this:

Yaconelli If I were to have a heart attack right at this moment, I hope I would have just enough air in my lungs and just enough strength in me to utter one last sentence as I fell to the floor: "What a ride!" My life has been up and down, careening left then right, full of mistakes and bad decisions, and if I died right now, even though I would love to live longer, I could say from the depths of my soul, "What a ride!"

Back in my youth ministry days, I read Mike almost every day. Not so much like sit down and read, but in small pieces, like meditation. This man was living breathing crazy on fire wacko for Jesus, and to hear his love for Jesus, was to know, was to have proof, that the love of God (and Gods very existance) IS transformative and real. I know I have mentioned this before, but there are days that I forget. Heck there are even months, that I forget how much I love Jesus. When I was working in youth ministry, I was never too far.

My life has changed, and not for the positive or negative, just changed. I love the journey that I have been walking, God’s love and care for me is nothing short of miraculous. I think though it is time to do some more reading, and listening to the Spirit, and listen to what lessons I may have forgotten of my journey along the way. And for the second story, my friend Carol. She has been a youth worker for some where in the neighborhood of 30 years. A quote from Mike that reminds me of her would be:

I’m in awe of youth workers, and I think Jesus is, too. I just wish the Church felt the same.
– Mike Yaconelli

In trying to catch back up in blog land, I went to visit my friend tierra y cielo. From there I learned that my friend Carol has started a blog. I worked with Carol for 2+ years on the Young Adult National Coordinating Committee. Just a bit before our big meeting in Denver we learned that Carol had cancer. She is the first person I have known & loved that has had this diagnosis. Carol was (I say this in past tense because I am no longer on the committee) my teammate, working on relationships together. Now, I consider myself to be a highly relational person, but in comparison to Carol, I am but a wee lass. A grasshopper with an opportunity to learn from my mentor and master, Miss Carol. And she is now fighting cancer, with the same smile and sense of hopefulness that she always brings to everything she does. I hope you will stop by her blog, say hello, and pray for her as I do.

I opened up my email this morning with a note from her, updating me, and sending me love and well wishes for my union with my sweetie.  An email full of love. And my post – sharing it with you.

God of love and mercy, thank you. For the web of inter-connectedness that you weave. Help me to stay present, and to share share share this amazing thing I feel today. Thanks for being so good, and in the words of Mike, "There are a whole lot of people who are so freakin’ busy—they’ve so cluttered up their lives—they’re at their wits’ end. And if they’d only just stop for a minute, they could hear the God of the universe whisper to them, "I love you."" Amen.

