yea Saddleback!

So – right off the bat I will tip my hat (HT) to emergingwomen for this great thought provoker. Tomorrow is World AIDS day, and there has been some very wonderful things to read, get involved in around this day. But I tip my hat to EW today because of their pointing me to this article from AOL news about some hub-bub at Saddleback Church.

Saddleback Church are the ones that are responsible for the purpose driven craze. I have read The PD Church, and tried to read the PD Life (but wow how that was not the book for me). Anyway, in many ways I think that church is really doing amazing things for the kingdom and for the little c church. So today, I read that Sen. Barack Obama is one of the speakers they have invited to come and speak at their global summit on AIDS and the church. They invited him because of his knowlege and passion for this topic.

Then – a conservative guy – Rob Schenck came out and called for people not to go to the whole thing – because of Sen. Obama’s stance on abortion. What does abortion have to do with fighting AIDS?

Why must we live in a world where one part of your belief system or part of who you are means that in some places your voice, you, don’t count? Throwing the baby out with the bathwater is just not something I understand.

OK People – really. Can we not all get along, learn from eachother, and set aside divisive issues? Oh – we can? Way to go Saddleback for saying what you believe (that you aren’t down with abortion, but that is not the topic), being true to your word, and making fighting AIDS, poverty and injustice, just that. Not into some right wing left wing conservative liberal politicing game. Just justice. Amen.

3 thoughts on “yea Saddleback!

  1. i could not agree with you more! why do people have to create smoke, to distract people from talking about the real issues!!!! it’s a disgrace that we allow our elected officials to get away with this behavior.

  2. “Why must we live in a world where one part of your belief system or part of who you are means that in some places your voice, you, don’t count? Throwing the baby out with the bathwater is just not something I understand.”
    I could not have put it better. Yes, Amen! Thank you.

  3. Don’t you just love Obama? OOOOO I love him I love him I love him!!!!!!!He is the one and only politician who I have ever in my life looked up to (about his political views) and have understood on a more “human” level. He is no BS…just a lot of midwestern goodness:)

Comments are closed.