For Sister Roberta every day is “Ash Wednesday”

Generally, every year, I try to give something up for Lent. Yes, yes, I am still one of those old school give-up’ers instead of the newer, hipper take something on Lent practicioners. There is something about the giving up – that connects me. To my body, to my day, to a truly holy season of Lent.

How I come to the idea of giving up – varies from year. I gave up TV one year, something I highly reccommend. Although for the reality viewer (I was at shrove tuesday pancake dinner and "coming out" about being a reality viewer was the topic post-pancake) this might seem like undue torture. If I can encourage you at all – try this one at home.

I don’t know what I will give up this year. It can’t be smokes like Sister Roberta, I am already 52 days into that non-action. Whatever it will be, I will report it back here.

What are you doing for Lent this year? (Really, like I’d love it if you are stopping by to say hi and tell me what you are doing this year. Nothing? Adding? Who cares – the filet o’ fish sandwiches are cheap on Fridays and I am totally pumped about that… whatever.)

8 thoughts on “For Sister Roberta every day is “Ash Wednesday”

  1. Not giving anything up, per se. (I thought about giving up sweets, but I’d never be able to do it and then I’d feel guilty!) I’m uust trying to be more mindful of the world around me, and on my call to the ministry.

  2. I am giving up chocolate… and believe me that is something I love!
    And I am adding on
    1) the work of Scripture memory – Colossians 3
    2) a regular fast day every Friday
    Such a very small thing I do for the Lord who gave so much for me…

  3. Giving up alcohol, but i don’t really drink that much anyway,…I’m also praying the Anglican rosary every day and studying the psalms and prophets. I always end up with more on my list then I can possibly do, but hey if I set my goals high and almost reach them, I still gain a lot.

  4. This year, my Lenten discipline is to go to bed by 10:30 every night, Saturday – Thursday. So far, it’s been a challenge.
    yours in the struggle,
    Max

  5. I’m not giving anything up this year for Lent (unless you count meaningless ritual), but I AM taking on a couple of disciplines. First, I always read the book “A Skeleton In God’s Closet” by Paul Maier, to remind me of the importance of the resurrection. This year, in addition, I’m undertaking the task of writing a setting of the Lutheran liturgy. That oughta be interesting…I’m hoping it will keep my eyes focused on the cross.
    Blessings in your journey!

Comments are closed.