frrr-frrr-frrrr iday fff…fff…five

A_lotsa_snow
Well, here in MN we have had the most snow fall on us in 25 years. Its cold, and I am working from home today. And whats amazing is I am getting more done here than I do normally at the office. I bet lots of you who get to work from home and read this already know this to be true.

Anyway – its cold outside but its warm in the house. Off we go.
Friday Five: Artsy Crafty
       
    
      

(ReverendMother says)During
Lent here at Suburban Presbyterian Church, we are exploring the
creative and liturgical arts, with classes and speakers dealing with
storytelling, iconography, dance, visual art, writing, and so on. The
theme is "A Beautiful Thing," inspired by the story of the woman
anointing Jesus and his declaration that "She has done a beautiful
thing for me." (Mark 14, NIV)

We are working on the notion
that everything we do can be considered a beautiful thing–a creative
offering to God–whether it’s gardening or scrapbooking or accounting
or sorting clothes at the clothes closet or child-rearing. And so:

1. Would you call yourself "creative"? Why or why not?
A few years ago, I lived in an artist co-op with my former partner and artist. She was always telling me "but you ARE! and artist!" I was not buying it. Until, one day, no particular day really, I realized I was. She saw me as one, and I began to try and see that person. When I am feeling particularily down, I often revert back to my old self, no-i’m-not-an-artist eeyore like ways. But when I am really honest, and re-member, I know that I am. I come from a long line of them. I am blessed.

2. Share a creative or artistic pursuit you currently do that you’d like to develop further.
Sewing. I want to go shopping at the thrift stores and turn old stuff into new fun creations.

3. Share a creative or artistic pursuit you have never done but would like to try.
Learning how to create icons.

4. Complete this sentence: "I am in awe of people who can _____________."
Img_0392
Be a working, thriving, growing, live out loud, make a few bucks, make your heart happy, artist. My dad is one. Man I love him (a fun recent piece at left).

5.
Share about a person who has encouraged your creativity, who has
"called you to your best self."
I know – ever single friday 5 she seems to make my list. But I swear – my beloved. She sees the best in me, and gives me lots of room to be me, all the messy parts me.

I think I would be a total ass if I did not also say that before my current muse – my sweetie, there were others who helped me get to being and finding my "best self." My mom, Anne and my dad, Phil. Then there was Ali my neighbor, and my sister M the jewler. Then Robert my wild eyed hippy all-in-one love fest. Greg the mixed media guru, and the above mentioned former partner. Laura aka Ma Baker, and Bill Seed. There are just so many who shape a person right? And how could I not mention him, Jesus. Without his story, his love, and his life being depicted in so many ways, I just don’t know if there could possibly be a "best self." So thanks for another amazing 5 reverendmother.

What are your 5? Play or link to your 5 in the comments if you wish.

4 thoughts on “frrr-frrr-frrrr iday fff…fff…five

  1. I’m glad you found me too, because that means I also found you. As a former bartender turned minister, I’m excited to read more!

  2. Wow! Homework from Rachel. I’m on my Nth beer – so I’m primed to answer.
    1) I am creative in many ways – most related to textiles & performing arts
    2)weaving – and my honey smuggled a huge, maple, eight-harness loom into our home to surprise me for Christmas. I still need to learn how to use it!
    3)I have never accomplished anything abstract – an art teacher told me I am too symmetric – it’s a tough habit to shake
    4) I am in awe of people who can improvise as musicians/vocalists
    5) My sons have called me to do my best work – especially sewing. Joren’s Halloween Badger costume that we created together in response to his beloved Urthwhite of the Mossflower Books by Brian Jaques was a highlight. My friends agreeing to wear belly-dancer costumes in our forties was pretty awesome, too. I almost sacrificed a kidney to that project! But that’s another story.

  3. I like your #1. I think it’s important being an artist is something to claim…even if there are times we don’t very much feel like it!

Comments are closed.