The Five

its here – the 5 – lets get it started!  Friday Five: Whatcha doin’?

(reverendmother says) Well friends, this is one of those weeks when I simply must work today, which is normally my day off. I know, I know. We may tut-tut all we want, but the fact is, some weeks are like that. So, this week’s F5 is simple.
Out_of_focus_large
Name five things you plan to do today.
Bonus: If today is about "have-to" for you as well, share up to five things you’d like to be doing today.

  1. Focus
  2. Focus
  3. Focus
  4. Focus
  5. Focus

I know – lame. But I really need to, for so many reasons. I am up to my eyeballs in work, but my heart is just not in it. I find myself daydreaming about the endless possibilities of where God is leading me, the to-do lists at home, the new and improved diet and exercise plan, and what to do to catch up on all these things that always seem to escape me. I have never been great at discipline, I move to the beat of a different drum. My heart tends to move me, which lately is getting me into a lot of trouble.

So the name of the game to day is focus. Tips on how to do that anyone?

12 thoughts on “The Five

  1. 1. Buy a house
    2. find a house that my wife and i both want
    3. sleep, because I’m tired of house hunting.
    4. drink because it is the eve of st. Patrick’s day and I gave up drinking for lent
    5. whine because I can do 1-4

  2. 1. Try to help Swanner focus. HEY, Swanner! Why are you reading this? Shouldn’t you be focusing?! I know, not helpful …
    2. Get caught up at work & ignore all the non-work work that’s calling me. I too am days behind in my work.
    3. Plan what I’m going to do tomorrow so I can be productive: I have a full day of work tomorrow too.
    4. Go to bed early tonight. We’re not getting enough sleep at our house and no rest for us wicked this weekend, either.
    5. Buy the extra cans we need for the foodshelf bag: what good is tuna helper with no tuna? Grocery store—today.
    6. Bonus: call the bank guy and ask him why he upgraded our membership with more perks when one of them now costs us an annual fee. Um, NO thanks!

  3. Here’s how I focus–leave the house, the family, and all things familiar. Go to the local coffeeshop with you ipod and FOCUS!

  4. Hiya, when I really need to focus at the office, I put my phone on “Do Not Disturb,” I close my IM client, I close my browser, I pipe some baroque instrumental music into my headphones (Water Music is good, as are the Brandenburg Concertos), and try to get into the groove.
    Sometimes, if it’s a problem-solving kind of thing, I’ll set up a good environment, and then set a time for a 5-minute brainstorming session before I start analyzing and solving.
    But that’s just me – these things may or may not work for anyone else.
    I wish you focus today, and peace, and joy.

  5. Quite a good post. If we couldn’t have you to our house this week cuz you were discerning I think it was worth it if you are wrastlin with God this much!
    So I’ll tell you what I need to tell myself after realizing that I’ve let my 4 kids down by focusing too much on the day job:
    Focus on:
    1) Being
    2) Listening
    3) Praying for HELP!
    4) Organizing
    5) DOing without regret to the things that needed to be left behind.
    When I listen to who I _REALLY_ am then I can focus on what needs to be done, pray for wisdom/strength, use my God given ability to order my tasks (lamp on the feet/light on the path deal) and the certainty I’m working on the right stuff! (See 43folders…)
    I pray you can throw off the details of the opportunities, step back to see who you ARE and then do what you’re supposed to.
    Talk soon? 😉
    Dan

  6. wow! thanks everyone for weighing in. my tunes are on, i’ve said some prayers, and the focus is better. thanks everyone. great stuff!

  7. Uh…what were we talking about again? jk
    I wish I had hints…but alas, I fear I’m much like you and hear that same drummer calling us away now…

  8. FOCUS! That’s the easy part – it’s trying to accomplish FIVE things in one day that is the challenge. I am a firm believer in “Two Do” list. Finish two things and reward yourself. Then start over. It feels very productive to bite off only what you can chew. That’s probably not helpful – but it works for me!
    Love, B

Comments are closed.