its been a while

a long while.
its 6:31 pm on Tuesday in Holy week, and I am in Dunn Brothers coffee shop in Longfellow. I am starkly aware of how long it has been since I have really "hung out" in a coffee shop.
Everyone is plugged in. Really. Everyone. Noone is NOT plugged in.

All on their laptops. Young and old. I am on the free computer, and theres even a man sitting beside me who if I had to pick him out of a line up I’d swear he was not computer savvy. But – what do I know anymore.

Its Tuesday in Holy Week and I am in a coffee shop – learning so much.

People are alone – but not really. Its a quiet buzz of the world that is here. People reading, typing occasionally. Connected – but not to each other. I am alone, but not really – I have the rest of the world here with me in this little machine. This little expensive machine called laptop. Its glowing, so are everyones eyes. All a glow with ideas and knowledge, with laughter but no sound.

Its Tuesday in Holy Week – and I can’t believe how long it has been since I have seen you, my old friend, the coffee shop.

God of amazing grace and hope and relationships – be in my heart and mind and mouth. I pray this in Jesus name. Amen.

