it begins and ends and begins

Its here. The Easter Triduum. The RevGals have had some amazing posts over the last two days. B and I have done noonday prayers (from the New Zealand Book of Common Prayer – so awesome – every day this week in the newly crafted chapel that we (me and B) fashioned out of love, desire and sheer will to have a Holy Space at work. Its cool – a real groovy spot for God time in the middle of a work day. Anyway – I digress.

For some reason or another, its been a little nut-cakes lately – you know? Like the world is spinning and spinning, and I can’t catch my breath. Because working for the Lord does have its short and long term advantages, I’ll be off of work Good Friday through Easter Monday. A 5-day break. Needed. So on that RevGals post, Revabi posts a jarring thought that every time I have recalled it during my day today, I’ve gotten just a little chokey. No full blown tears, but… she says

Have you let Jesus wash your feet? If not will you? Try taking some time away to think of your love of Jesus, Jesus love for you, and your love for others. Try not to be the sacrificial lamb this season, instead remember who is the sacrificial lamb.

Then I hear Mindy on my Pandora, singing


Oh, my baby, when you’re cryin’
Never hide your face from me
I’ve conquered hell and driven out the demons
I have come with a life to set you free


Worry not my daughters,
Worry not my sons
Child, when life don’t seem worth livin’

Come to Jesus
and let Him hold you in His arms

No, I have not let Jesus wash my feet. Not in a long time. What is wrong with me? I want to. His humility, His love, to death, I am struck, amazed. This week during noontime prayers, we read the passage in John – oh I just love it so much – reminds me of my TEC days (Teens Encounter Christ). Very truly, I tell you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth
and dies, it remains just a single grain; but if it dies, it bears much
fruit. John 12:20-26.

Obedience. God, please. Ears to hear, and eyes to see, and the gumption and ooumph to follow you. Amen.

One thought on “it begins and ends and begins

  1. I totally understand about not letting Jesus wash your feet.
    I am so glad you posted your Pandora. I am adding you to mine.
    The words to that song bring a lump to my throat just reading them.

Comments are closed.