putting together a life

Easter Monday. Back to the land of the living – you know – what with Jesus dying and rising again this year. Lent and Holy Week are over (*phew*) and I am back at the business of putting my life together.

I got a new CD the other day. Colin Hay – I know I keep going on and on and on about him, but there is this song (waiting for my real life to begin), its like me and God talking. Here… its so worth the download.

(Me)
Any minute now my ship is coming in
I’ll keep checking the horizon
And I’ll stand on the bow
And feel the waves come crashing
Come crashing down, down, down on me

(God) And you said,"Be still, my love
Open up your heart
Let the light shine in"
(Me) Don’t you understand?
I already have a plan
I’m waiting for my real life to begin

(Me) When I awoke today suddenly nothing happened
But in my dreams I slew the dragon
And down this beaten path
And up this cobbled lane
I’m walking in my own footsteps once again

(God) And you say,"Just be here now
Forget about the past
Your mask is wearing thin"
(Me) Let me throw one more dice
I know that I can win
I’m waiting for my real life to begin

(Me) Any minute now my ship is coming in
I’ll keep checking the horizon
And I’ll check my machine
There’s sure to be that call
It’s gonna happen soon, soon, oh so very soon
It’s just that times are lean

(God) And you say,"Be still, my love
Open up your heart
Let the light shine in"
(Me) Don’t you understand?
I already have a plan
I’m waiting for my real life to begin

(releasing my clenching fists – *exhale*) OK. Its time. God, my plan sucks. Help me to be still, my heart is open, I will not judge, I will not call unclean what you call clean. I’ll get out of the way. Promise. Your will be done. I get it. Yours, really. Amen.

One thought on “putting together a life

  1. yes, yes and YES.
    Maybe the plan is to just sit in the waiting for awhile. That has been true for me sometimes. But when God was ready to share his plan, I knew it like a brick upside the head. When you get the brick, just GO. Do it. Whatever it is.
    I love reading your blog. Thanks for writing where we get to see it.
    Love+
    Rachel

Comments are closed.