friday friday five five

Its Friday – so you know what that means. Lets get it started.
This Friday brought to you by Songbird, the letter G and the number 5.

    
       
          Friday Five: Surprised By Joy
       
    
      

   
   
   
      

Jesus said to them, "Children, you have no fish, have you?" They       answered him, "No."
He
said to them, "Cast the net to the right side of the boat, and you will
find some." So they cast it, and now they were not able to haul it in
because there were so many fish. That disciple whom Jesus loved said to
Peter, "It is the Lord!" When Simon Peter heard that it was the Lord,
he put on some clothes, for he was naked, and jumped into the sea.
(John 21:5-7)

Weeping may linger       for the night, but joy comes with the morning.
(Psalm 30:5b)

This
week I’ve been watching parents of the young people slain at Virgina
Tech trying to make meaning out of the lives of their lost children,
and each one seems to begin by focusing on something joyful about that
child. It’s a gift that most humans have brains wired to respond in
that way. For some of us it can be harder to work our way out of dark
places, but I believe joy remains the key. It is the spirit of
resurrection.

Tell us about five people, places, or things that have brought surprising, healing joy into your life.

  1. When my mom first went missing, I think the first thing that was most surprising and joy-filling was all of those people who just poured out of the woodwork, people I had totally written off as friends or acquaintances. They came in all shapes and sizes; they were as varied as old neighbors, my grandfather, friends I had no idea were friends. They gathered around to be a part of the loss, the grief, and to help me and my family pick up the pieces. Most of them have faded into the background again, which is ok. Everyone has their part to play in this thing called life.
  2. My siblings. They are the greatest gift I could ever ask, want or pray for. 
  3. Ireland. All of it. Its mystical and mist filled country. The smells, the driving, the people (except for one large saxophone player who broke my heart – jerky pants). Whenever I am there, I feel home.
  4. Surprising? I always thought I would work in restaurants all of my life. My goal was my own place by the age of 30, and a B&B to retire by the age of 60. So the big surprise, the big healing joy, has been working for the Lord over the last 7 years. It has increased my faith, has reminded me of myTiggerbear own brokenness, and the brokenness of others. It has helped me reconcile and understand my relationship with God and other.
  5. Tigger, my kitty. She has seen it all. She has lived through 7 relationships, 11 homes, 4 other kitties, 4 dogs, and she continues to just do her thing. She is beautiful, healing, a lover and she gets me. I can’t think of a more joyful constant healing presence than her.

Just 5? Ok – just 5. (shhhh…. one more. My Sweetie.)

God of peace and joy, of comfort and consoling, thank you. You alone give life and meaning to these things, people, and places. What an amazing thing it is to be surprised by your lavish love, even in the midst of great challenges, horror, and grief.

Keep watch, dear Lord.
Keep watch with those who work,
or watch, or weep this night,
and give your angels charge over those who sleep.
Tend the sick, Lord Christ;
give rest to the weary, bless the dying,
soothe the suffering, pity the afflicted,
shield the joyous, and all for your love’s sake.
Amen.

(BCP, An Order for Compline, p134)

8 thoughts on “friday friday five five

  1. 1) Joren, my youngest when we thought his big brother might die of meningitis or something and it turned out to be LaCrosse Encephalitis and he recoverd 100%
    2) Mary, my friend who saved me from my own despair during the episode above by sitting on my lap and holding me and crying with me and then pulling her toothbrush out of her purse and telling me to go take of my bad breath – right now.
    3) Caernarvon, Wales – Caernarvon Castle – wow! Better than Ireland – and I’ve been there, both places
    4) Arthur, my oldest, playing on his trampoline
    5) On the Mississippi River

Comments are closed.