brezsny break

A little Brezsny to start the Wednesday post…

River_pic5
CANCER (June 21-July 22):

What is the holiest river in the world? Some might say the Ganges in India.
Others would propose the Jordan River or the River Nile. But in
accordance with current astrological omens, I say the holiest river is
the one that’s closest to where you are right now.
Your assignment
is to go to that river and commune with it. Throw something valuable
into it as an offering, and ask it to teach you how to feel more
reverence and amazement and curiosity for everything in your life. By
the time we meet here next week, I hope you will have walked on holy
streets, praised holy people, hugged holy trees, kissed holy ground,
and even shopped at holy stores.

A funny thing happens when all you can do is be curmudgeon-like, dramatic, and generally a pain in the ass to be around because you feel like no one notices, no one cares, and you are only a "__________" (enter the title or mask you wear that you like the least). Grace. That’s what happens.

In looking up the word, there seem to be about a thousand definitions for that little 5 letter word. The one that I speak of now though – can only be defined this way.

grace     Pronunciation KeyShow Spelled Pronunciation[greys] Pronunciation KeyShow IPA Pronunciation noun, verb,  graced, grac·ing.

a. the freely given, unmerited favor and love of God.    And / Or
b. the influence or spirit of God operating in humans to regenerate or strengthen them.

So there I was, at work, another LONG day. Its marathon week in the office, meeting after meeting after meeting after meeting, you get the point. Its slim pickins’ in the office – most people are either crazy busy or gone. My work-load, insane. INSANE.

Now, I am trying to keep it together. But you know – c’mon ladies, especially when its THAT time of the month, my skin, it gets a little thinner. So today, a dear friend who was at the office for a meeting (prepping for another meeting) came to my desk and asked how I was, and yep – I started to bawl. Not one more second could I put on the brave face, the "I’m super-office lady" cover was blown. Well, she just held me, and held and held. It was so wonderful.

So – kleenex and the brave face is back on. Work work work – its getting to be past 6. I’m trying to finish up my day, but the meeting is still going. I will have to wait – and work – until the meeting is over, so I can lock up. I called my sweetie – to tell her I would be another 15 to 20 minutes, at least. (Add an extra measure of "oh woah is me" in there and you get the picture.)

So – imagine my surprise when the group who was meeting came out, and asked if they could lay hands on me and pray for me. They did. And – say what you will – it was the best few minutes of life and love I have experienced in a while. They prayed, and the words were like water, washing over my tired soul.

I went to the river today, the group took me there. Washed clean again. Thanks be to God.

6 thoughts on “brezsny break

  1. I love hands laid on me in prayer and it has been ages since that has happened. In that short space of time, there is so much love and safety.
    If I lived closer, I would drop off a pie at you and your sweetie’s home.
    What kind do you want?

  2. hhhmmm….I have never made a rhubarb pie. Is virtual rhubarb alright?
    When I meet you, will you lay hands on me? I would love to hear you pray for me.

  3. Word-nerd English teacher compliments you on the amazing way you linked your 2 seemingly unrelated stories: the horoscope and the office-day. They could have been just 2 of the day’s thoughts. They didn’t need to be linked–both sort of related to what happens in a day.
    But the one-line tie-up at the end? Didn’t see that coming and OH MY! A new picture is painted, one that shows you how 2 things overlap in an unexpected but oh-of-course! way. That is some brilliant writing you’ve done here. Brilliant!
    And my day is changed and newer because I’ve read it.

  4. Have rhubarb growing in the north yard – want some?
    Why is your blog bar on the right side covering up the right side of your current blog text? Or is this stupid computer really just in need of being tossed off a bridge into my favorite river?

Comments are closed.