Does it get easier?

As I eluded to in the previous post – yesterday was the 2 year anniversary of my mom being found, deceased, after being a missing person for almost 7 years. Sunday is Mothers Day in the US. Typically – it is my least favorite of "holidays." I guess you would say for obvious reasons, I don’t have one, nor am I a mother myself.

The inbox is getting littered with "Mothers Day" reminders, offers, and ways to do something in honor of this day. (barf – sorry moms and daughters in which this day hold immense joy) This year – I’ll be with my sweetie, on a little mini-holiday in Chicago. With any luck – the day will pass without any fanfare, and I’ll have a lot of fun in a city I have never been to.

Dmb_firedancer_2
Yesterday – to honor my mom – I worked out in the yard. I sweat. I pulled weeds. I listened to my little iPod shuffle, and danced. Yes – danced. Like full on night club discotheque action right there, in front of the fireplace in the backyard, with earbuds in, I twirled in the night air. I took the dead sticks from all over the yard, bundled them up, and burned them, and grooved my bad-ass self. I am sure the neighbors thought I was nuts. I felt a little crazy actually. But – oh how it felt so wonderful.

I really miss her. Call me crazy, call me a victim, call me what you will. Today, it hurts. Today – I miss her.

3 thoughts on “Does it get easier?

  1. I’m with ya sister. Literally and figuratively. I wish I could have been shakin’ my groove thang with you.

  2. swandive, I am sorry to read about this incredibly painful tragedy. I cannot imagine your sadness.
    Wishing you dancing and, in time, not the loss of the pain, but an equal measure of joy in memories and love.
    Pax, C.

Comments are closed.