making a list and checking it twice

So, I kicked, I screamed, I pouted. I was like a 4 year old, behaving badly. I already went to church, I didn’t want to go again. But, I got over myself, sucked it up, and went.

You see I signed up to volunteer at church, talking to people after church, hanging out by the visitors kiosk. I made this commitment weeks earlier. To top it off – I was not at the last meeting (due to a conflict), so I was not going to bail. Normally – this is the kind of thing that makes my heart beat, but its been a long first week at work, and the air conditioners were still not in at home. One more night of sleeping in what seemed to be the hottest place on earth, was not appealing to me. Whine whine whine.

So isn’t it always that way – that God shows up in the places you resist? The ones you seem to fight the hardest against? That is what happened to me. It came in the form of music.

Wayfaring
The Mercy Band changed up a bit this week – Razz – the bands leader, was not there. I’ll admit it, I know no one in the band. But I look at them every Sunday – in awe of their talent and voices. This Sunday, someone other than Razz took the front man gig, and he was simply, honestly, soulfully beautiful. As the second hymn began, I was transported.

I am a poor wayfaring stranger
Travelling through this world of woe
There’s no sickness, toil or danger
In that bright land to which I go

I’m going there to meet my [father/mother/Savior]
I’m going there no more to roam
I’m just a-going over Jordan
I’m only going over home

Yes I’m going over Jordan
Just going, no more to roam
Only going over Jordan
Just a-going to my home

This will be the song I will have played at my funeral.

Do you ever encounter this in your own life, you see something (like a Joseph Cornell or Freida Kahlo piece of art), or hear something (like the first time I heard Bonnie Raitt sing "Feels Like Home"), smell something and become overtaken by a sense, become transported to a time not yet come?

2 thoughts on “making a list and checking it twice

  1. I feel that way when I hear “Love (So Beautiful)” by D.J. Maj.
    I feel transported to a future time.
    Thanks for reminding me!
    P.S. I tagged you for a new Meme!

  2. The art of Jackson Pollack, Eric Clapton, Miles Davis, Picasso, and sitting at the beach after a storm and watching the waves pound into shore all take me to the beyond. The big fancy seminary word I’m still paying student loans for is “transcendence”, but your description is better.

Comments are closed.