Oh beloved blessed F5, how I have missed you

And this 5 comes from Sally, someone whom I adore and am so grateful for her popping in on me from time to time. Its a goodie – so here we go!   

Here in the UK we are struggling with floods, other parts of the world have similar problems without the infrastructure to cope with it, still others are badly affected by drought…. My son Jon is in Melbourne Australia where apparently it has been snowing ( yes it is winter but still!)…. With crazy weather in mind I bring you this weeks Friday 5…

1. Have you experienced living through an extreme weather event- what was it and how did you cope?

I have and I can’t believe I can’t find any pictures to share! It was the Halloween Snow of 1991. I mean it even has its own link! I was working for this bar that was in a tiny town, Lillydale, next to a bigger town, Mendota Heights, just up the way from downtown St. Paul. You never would have guessed it was so close to downtown that night and day though. It easily could have been someplace like Embarrass or International Falls, MN.
I was the FOH MOD (front of house, manager on duty, yes even restaurants have Office Space’isms). Outside there we people pulling up on 4 wheelers, snowmobiles and sleds. The snow came so fast, we had what seemed like over 5 feet in places – with snowdrifts.
We had an impromtu employee / bar regulars party, and stayed up all night, playing whipped cream baseball, shooting pool, and made some of the the coolest colorful (food coloring and jello) snow angels you ever did see.

2. How important is it that we wake up to issues such as global warming?

I can’t think of anything more important, as I believe it directly impacts so many other issues, like poverty and hunger. Caring for all of God’s creations: the earth, the things that crawl, walk, slither upon it, the air, the water – its all a web of interconnected life. What I am amazed by is how many people don’t care, or feel nothing when it comes to this issue.

3. The Christian message needs to include stewardship of the earths resources agree/ disagree?

Ummm… agree.

And because it is summer- on a brighter note….

4. What is your favourite season and why?
Fall. The colors, the smells, the crisp air, the newness of each sweater that I re-discover. It is a season of glorious transformation and death. But beautiful, glorious, life turning, cycle shifting death. I love the squash and the Minnesota State Fair, I love fall.

5. Describe your perfect vacation weather….

Any weather is perfect vacation weather. For me, its about choosing to have a good time, no matter where you are and what God serves up for climate. Sometimes getting snowed in is just the right thing. Sometimes, driving along sheer cliffs in driving rain in Ireland brings the most laughter and smiles. A shower a day (the 10 minute rain shower) in the Virgin Islands is what keeps everything so lush and green. A perfectly sunshine day, always starts from within.

8 thoughts on “Oh beloved blessed F5, how I have missed you

  1. Dale and I held our wedding reception in Lillydale at Diamond Lil’s October 3, 1987. We chose the fall because it’s our favorite season, too. We were living in rural Hastings by 1991 and Joren had just been born in late August. Arthur was almost 3 and was going out trick-or-treating for the first time in that HUGE SNOWSTORM. I made a jester costume for him with really baggy legs. He did his own clown make-up and his daddy took him slogging through the snow drifts to visit the neighbors. He was soaked and exhausted by the time he arrived home, grinning with his soggy pillow case of candy. 🙂

  2. Live through a weather event? My mom just sent me an e-mail reminding me that 20 years ago this week was a crazy rain and big flood in the Twin Cities. It was one of the first times I drove our family car alone and I went to an art class in a building right between 2 lakes (Lake Cornelia in Edina). Our class had to take shelter in the basement because of the storm warnings and then had to get out of the basement because of the flood. After a while the students started to leave to get home. I drove the road between the 2 lakes that was completely flooded–the water coming up over the hood of the car on to the windshield–praying out loud the whole time, scared out of my 17-year-old wits. Every road I tried to take was impassable. Along Valley View Dr. by Southdale, I could see other cars nose down in ditches, water up over the front windows, with just the rear windows & trunk-end sticking up in the air–where were the drivers?! I kept driving around trying not to stop and looking for a road I could take to get home or to a friend’s house. I was a brand new driver but still ran stop signs, flashing red lights that were shorted out, and even drove the wrong way down a one-way just trying to get out. In a residential neighborhood near Southdale I saw a home with a front light on, someone standing in the doorway, and a steep, uphill driveway–thank god! I pulled in and asked if I could use their phone–in the days before cell phones. The nice old couple let me in, and when I reached my family, they told me there was nothing to do and to stay put. I stayed overnight with these wonderful & complete strangers. We spend the night bailing out their basement and moving Mrs. WhatsHerName’s French family heirlooms to higher ground. I wore Mr. WhatsHisName’s pajamas and they fed me breakfast the next a.m. My parents came to pick me up and we had to have the car towed–engine was too wet to start. This is the story I wrote for my college entrance essays! 20 years ago… wow.
    One more bit of commentary: on the “laughter and smiles” while driving the sheer cliffs in the rain in Ireland? The laughter and smiles definitely happened AFTER the driving was complete, not during, as I remember : )

  3. Whereabouts in the UK are you? I’m studying at St. John’s College, Nottingham. I’m totally homesick for the US though, but despite that, I’m glad I’m not burning in the California heat.

Comments are closed.