a five kinda friday

Its Friday, it’s five questions from the wonderful Sally. OK – lets go!

Cultural Friday 5

(Sally says)   I
have spent the week at Summer School studying the Gospel and Western
culture, we have looked at art, literature, music, film and popular
culture in their myriad expressions. With that in mind I bring you the
cultural Friday 5.

Name a

1. Book
A book that has helped, the good ol’ Book of Common Prayer. Lame answer I know, but I really do use it more than Sundays. A book that has challenged me, other than the Good one, would be Turning Points,: Decisive Moments in the History of Christianity
 
  by Mark A. Noll. How did it challenge me? I am still trying to read it while staying awake. Any suggestions or people who can heartily commend this one (besides my former pastor who tells me its a must read)?

2. Piece of music
Anything that comes from the Taizé community.

3. Work of art
My dads stuff. I find his work to be so much a part of my inner world, my spiritual landscape, and sometime I will grab a bunch of pictures and post them.

4. Film
In America, The Shawshank Redemption, Frida, and I could go on. But I won’t. I’ll stop.

5. Unusual engagement with popular culture
My annual visits to the Minnesota State Fair, which started yesterday. It’s unusual and amazingly spiritual to me.

That have helped/ challenged you on your spiritual journey.

Bonus: Is engagement essential to your Christian faith, how and why?
Yes – I am 5 senses kinda of gal who needs to feel hear see smell touch my way through and into the mystery and holy. I pray with all kinds of art and gadgets to help. I need people, others, to see Jesus alive in the world. Those people are not normally Christian by the way.

4 thoughts on “a five kinda friday

  1. fab play! you know i love coming to your blog and reading your headling. it’s great! also, i noticed your hoops and yo yo button–this am i noticed they’s done something very weird with the little blue mouse. it totally made me sad!
    fab blog!

  2. ROFL on Mark Noll – thought I will confess that it is a heck of a lot better read than my church history text… snore… And I love Taize too. 🙂
    d

  3. 1) Book: The Random House Dictionary of the English Language – Unabridged – that’s the important part. I LOVE looking up and learning words.
    2) Music: corny, but I am ALWAYS moved by “You Can’t Always Get What you Want” by the Stones, “Angry Young Man” by Styx, The 1812 Overture and the Chirstian song that has contrasting melodies with deep and high voices singing all the many names of God and Jesus and the Spirit – don’t know the name or the songwriter but it starts out “You are Holy . . . You are mighty” etc. and then does the “You are the Prince of Peace you are the Lamb of God” I know I’m messing it up, but I love the phrase “You are Alpha, Omega, you are ancient of Days” that part just hits me in the gut in a really good way. It makes me feel grounded in God.
    3) Art: everything my sons ever created for me – my favorite pieces still decorate our walls
    4) Film: right now I love “A Knight’s Tale” – but the movie thing changes with every moment, so I have to decide quyickly and list a first impression
    5) Unusual Engagement w. Pop Culture: the Minnesota Renaissance Festival – my favorite alternative universe – can’t wait to go.

Comments are closed.