the F5 on a saturday

This one had to go on the back burner, as I felt it needed some time and reflection. Sally, a blogging friend, says this for the revgals Friday 5:

Friday 5 – on overcoming
   
   
   
      

I am preparing this Friday 5 just before I take Chris into
hospital for a cardioversion, right now we are all a little
apprehensive. But this whole thing has got me thinking, so many of us
are overcomers in one way or another, so many have amazing stories to
tell of God’s faithfulness in adversity. And so I bring you this Friday
5.
1.Have you experienced God’s faithfulness at a difficult time? Tell as much or as little as you like…

Three words: my mothers disappearance.
Though I would never wish a loved one – much less a mother to a daughter – going missing on anyone, I will say the hindsight on this one is 20/20.
God has graced me, shown mercy to me, and has blessed me 10 times through this life altering journey. She is now ‘found’, deceased – as many of you already know. The waiting game, the prayers, the tears, the outrage, the big fat F yous at God – my shit head behavior never wavered God’s love for me. Never wavered God’s blessings towards me and my family. And the journey continues…

2. Have you experienced a dark night of the soul, if so what brought you through?

Yes. Love. God’s love, my siblings, my partner, my past partners, my friends. It really is the greatest gift.

3. Share a Bible verse, song, poem that has brought you comfort?

…and be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ has forgiven you.

324. Is "why suffering" a valid question?

It is, and it still stumps me, stops me in my tracks, can’t get over it, can’t explain it to my friends who look at my faith as if I am a total sucker.

5. And on a lighter note- you have reached the end of a dark and difficult time- how are you going to celebrate?

By just getting on with it, and continuing to create and co-create a better life. My mom used to like the Nike slogan (ok – way before we knew about Nike’s crappy inhumane, unfair labor issues) – Just Do It. That is how she lived her life, and that is how I try to live. Just get up, be grateful you can get up, and do it – whatever the ‘it’ is that you are called to do.

Bonus- anything you wish to add….
Hugs for Sally and her family.
Sorry if this has been a little heavy I will try to lighten up soon!!!

Sometimes its just silly to say sorry for something that just is. So as my sweetie would say "The office of ‘sorry’ is closed."

2 thoughts on “the F5 on a saturday

  1. I love that ” thje office of sorry is closed”- I need to remember- thank you for sharing such painful memories and for seeing Gods grace through them.

Comments are closed.