a good slice of pi

So this past weekend a really good friend was in town from Brooklyn NY. Trying to be a good co-hostess, my sweetie and dragged him out for some free happy hour pool, good beer and great atmosphere at Pi, the local newish lesbo joint. Not exactly a place he would have found on his own, probably not a place he would pick at first glance, but it turned out to be really great.

Piheader
So, an acquaintance of ours, T (I’d say friend, but she might not say the same. She runs in some of the same circles of people we hang with.) owns the place with a few other people. When we were there, I sparked up a conversation with T. We got to talking about marketing, websites, building community, reaching the people that are not yet familiar with or don’t frequent Pi. They are the stay at home, olderish, used to hang out at the Metro Nightclub (ugh), Powderhorn livin’, May Day Parade hangin’, partnered kind (I realize this is a huge blanket statement of generalizations). What really struck me about the whole conversation is that I could have been having the same conversation with some priest friends, about Jesus.

People long to belong, to be a part of a community where they say to themselves – I can be here, I can make a difference here, I fit here, I feel strangely comforted here, people here ‘get’ me.

I went to "church" last weekend, and my church was in a bar for lesbians and their friends.

4 thoughts on “a good slice of pi

  1. Bill Tully at St. Barts in NYC always use to say that people BELONG long before they ever BELIEVE. Therefore churches should work on an atmosphere where people can belong first and then let God handle the belief part.
    God’s Peace,
    Jason+

  2. This is an awesome and elegant comparison. Listen up CHURCH! We used to joke about going to the church-of-the-bar, but now we know that the comparison is fair (no wonder Jeebuz was into turning water into wine!)

  3. Thanks for this, Rachel. Your words really hit home. I’ve found myself communing in all manner of places that would definitely not be considered holy at first glance. That sense of belonging, connection, and meaning that you spoke of, though, is often just what creates sacred spaces.

Comments are closed.