my Swan-song day

Something is in the air.

Fact: This morning my sweetie and I started a conversation on the way to work (where so many good conversations start) about the topic ‘what would you do if I die first?’ (We did not finish it. I hope we do.)
Fact: A beloved pastor, whom I did not know, but oh so many did, died today, bad ticker. Grief stricken office.
Fact: I went to an Estate sale over lunch for the late Rt. Rev. Fred Putnam. What an amazing thing to do – go through a deceased persons things. It was something. He had a library of books to behold. I purchased 2.
Fact:

And in the background sings Mindy Smith (on pandora)…


Oh, please don’t go


Let me have you just one moment more


Oh, all I need


All I want is just one moment more

 

Oh, please don’t go


Let me have you just one moment more


Oh, all I need


All I want is just one moment more


You’ve got to hold me and maybe I’ll believe

 

So hold me


Even though I know you’re leaving


I looked up the meaning and history on Swan song. Can you believe it, its a saying with my own name in it, and I had no idea what it meant. Although its not true, its hauntingly beautiful.

Fall_leaves_orange
Fall is here, colors are turning, death seems so palpable today.
But, what a joy – what a ride – to be alive today. Grief seems strangely at a distance today. Like I feel it, but its more of a warm, glad energy – moving, giving thanks, for this big cycle of life we are all on.

Congrats reverendmother, for all of the life and change and birth to come.
Here’s to letting go and letting God – the mystery weaver – do God’s thang. No hanging on, letting fingers drop, one two, three….
Wheeeeee……

2 thoughts on “my Swan-song day

  1. And like all natural cycles, as something dies, something else is born: Welcome to the world Wren Catherine Arvidson-Bluemle, the newest baby in our community. 9/28/07, 4:09 p.m., 7 lb. 10 oz. and 100% beautiful!

Comments are closed.