LOVE: Silence

I am attempting to write about something I long for, silence. Notice long for, NOT know a ton about.

Truth be told, anyone who is close to me will tell you, I am terrible at silence. Its not exactly like prayer where I can get a free pass and claim the little thoughts, intentional moments, conversational talking with God – prayer. No silence is… well, silent.

No clacking of the keys on the computer, not even staring at the screen to read – it creates sound within. The obvious – no music to help me get in the mood for silence.

I love it, when it comes. But I can admit freely here that I think it scares the shit out of me. I fear what inner voices I’ll have to wade though to get to the true quiet. I strangely feel drawn to make the journey to the quiet,  and relish when it comes. But I find myself surprised by the void, the open space, when it comes. I sort of flounder about, wondering what it is that I need to fill up that space. This was the case for me last night. Silence came. I sat with it for about 1 hour, before I got itchy.

So I love it. I am not good at it. I am going to learn how not to fear it. I won’t run, turn on the boob-tube, click and clack on the computer or turn to my iTunes. When it comes, I’ll play nice, let it in, and see what comes.

I’ll end this with a few great quotes that I am going to hold on to, stick up on my cube, and try to commit to my heart and soul memory.

We need to find God, and he
cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is the friend of
silence. See how nature – trees, flowers, grass- grows in silence; see
the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence… We need
silence to be able to touch souls.

– Mother Theresa

The most basic and powerful way to connect to another person is to
listen. Just listen. Perhaps the most important thing we ever give each
other is our attention…. A loving silence often has far more power to
heal and to connect than the most well-intentioned words.
– Rachel Naomi Remen, Author of Kitchen Table Wisdom (a book I love)

In the attitude of silence the soul finds the path in a clearer
light, and what is elusive and deceptive resolves itself into crystal
clearness. Our life is a long and arduous quest after Truth.Mahatma Gandhi
3 thoughts on “LOVE: Silence

  1. Hi! I am integrating beingheidi into sh-out. It’s pretty exciting actually. I think that you are the only one that knew me at both places. Thank you for all of your support at both places.
    I KNOW what you mean about the silence. I love Alanis Morisette’s line about it in one of her songs – first album – where the song just STOPS. And then she asks what we were forced to think about in that moment of silence. I will have to listen to her tomorrow and let you know which song.

Comments are closed.