LOVE: Day 1

So to organize my thoughts about how to start my 30 days – my mid reels with people, places, subjects… there is just so much love in the world, why is it that we focus on bickering, lack, and Britney Spears latest escapades?

I don’t know – and don’t want to spend one more minute of this one wild and precious life I have thinking about it.

Speaking of!
Poetry, I love poetry.
Sweetie is a poet, this is one area of our life that I hope will grow, continue to unfold, share – in our many years to come.  My friend A is quite a word smith. I still lurk over at Abbey of the Arts, looking and longing for words that jerk and pull at my spirit, words that heal and cut.

My admiration for this practice, for this language, for the art – is still growing. But something deep within knows a love when I hear it. I believe it is no accident that my beloved is an artist of words.

I especially love Mary Oliver. So I’ll close day one with part of a fave.
from Summer Day, by Mary Oliver
I
don’t know exactly what a prayer is. / I do know how to pay attention,
how to fall down / into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass, /
how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields, / which
is what I have been doing all day. / Tell me, what else should I have
done? / Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon? / Tell me, what
is it you plan to do / with your one wild and precious life?

2 thoughts on “LOVE: Day 1

Comments are closed.