An idots guide to prayer

Yesterday we were in need of a gallon of milk, some eggs and coffee. That was all.

We ended up with a cart full of the above listed, and well, you know how it goes. The cart was full full full by the time we hit the checkout. Grocery shopping is one of mine and sweeties favorite pass times as a couple. For me, its almost a spiritual experience.

Which leads me to the check-out.

Prayer_for_dummies0001_2Next to the updates on Brittney Spears, Angelina’s ‘bump’ and the all exciting update on Paris Hilton, was ‘The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Prayer’, a little booklet, like those horoscope things. I was drawn like a moth to a flame and picked it right up. My brain was reeling – before opening the thing – about the BEST snarky post ever that I could write. I mean really, who learns about prayer in the isle of the grocery store? And the title: Serious. Cheese. Factor.

Well friends, this is me, guess who is an idiot?

NO – I am not about to suggest that anyone other than me should be picking this little ditty up for a mere $2.95. NO – I am not about to sing its praises. It is lame lame lame, and I am just all too ashamed and embarrassed to share with you that it is speaking to me.

I can freely admit that talking to God, outside of the ritual places (meals, staff meetings, and the recent adventures of going back to church), has been well, a little dead. I do pray for people who ask, when they ask. I don’t lie and say ‘how can I pray for you’ or ‘I’ll pray for you’ and then not do it. I totally do. But its not anything I would want any of you who I have prayed for, to watched on a secret prayer-cam.

I want it. A prayer life. I need it. But I’ll be goll danged if I know how to do it anymore.

I used to have a good prayer life. I won’t share here when ‘used to’ was. THAT would be far to embarrassing. So this is me, getting naked, about my need for a prayer life. Any thoughts?

5 thoughts on “An idots guide to prayer

  1. I’m going to the store to buy a secret prayer-cam right now … well, I won’t use it but really, gotta have one.
    Okay, okay, I’ll pray about it first!
    Love it!

  2. Hey Swandive,
    I used to not like praying for people. Really! Trying to think of things to say felt like such a chore.
    Then, I decided to try contemplative prayer. No words needed!! 🙂
    And sometimes, I even throw in distant healing. And I add light and wellness to what I’ve been visualizing. That actually makes it fun.
    What led to this great revelation about how I should pray was a quiz on spiritual types. I found out that mystics pray mystically. How cool is that!
    Jeanine

  3. Hey Swanny,
    I know this might sound weird, but I’ll say it anyway. Often, it feels to me like your blog is a prayer (yeah, I know that sometimes you offer bits of direct ‘Dear Lord’ prayer at the end of particular posts and I’m talking about outside of that). I am definitely no expert in this area–and even less practiced at it. At the same time, I see prayer as communing and it feels like that communing shows up a lot here. Thank you for that, by the way!

Comments are closed.