Signs of Hope: the F5

Sally offers the 5 this week, and I am taking a go at it. Been a while since I have played, so here goes. She says:

It has been a difficult week here
in Dowham Market, and yet in the sadness there have been signs of real
hope, young people, often criticised have shown us how caring and
amazing they are. It has also been a strange week; it snowed for almost
the first time this winter, and yet many of the spring bulbs are
blooming, and the trees are blossoming!

I believe that if we look carefully we can see signs of hope all around us…. as for signs of spring… well you tell me….

Bluebells in my garden, before the snow!

What have you seen/ heard this week that was a:

 

1. Sign of hope?

My aunts caringbridge website, which gives me regular updates on how she is. She has recently been diagnosed and started treatment for breast cancer. She is the first woman I have personally known to have it. My aunt – is kick-ass, smart, wonderful, and she gives me tons of hope.

2. An unexpected word of light in a dark place?

My friend Wendy got a great gig where I used to work.

3. A sign of spring?

I got nothin’ – literally and metaphorically. Damn that
Punxsutawney Phil.

4. Challenging/ surprising?

No matter what anyone tells you, people – ARE GOOD. Humanity is good. I have not been sure of that over the last 6 months. I opened my eyes (the ones on my face and the ones on my heart) and signs just started showing up. Now – to not forget.

5. Share a hope for the coming week/month/year….

I hope that this year I will teach my eyes to stay open.
I hope leave the pain from the dark place, behind.
I hope to love more, snap less, continue blogging.
I hope to be more hopeful.

Bonus play… a piece of music/ poem guaranteed to cheer you?

*winks and snickers*
Luck in My Eyes, k.d. Lang from Absolute Torch and Twang.


I can hear a howling wind
That sweeps away
The pain thats been
Take all my sorrow
And Ill cast away
The worries tomorrow
That I had today
Gonna walk away from trouble
With my head held high
Then look closely youll see
Luck in my eyes

5 thoughts on “Signs of Hope: the F5

  1. No obvious signs of spring?! What about the tiny rocks-of-sham (that’s shamrocks for the rest of you) that are sprouting from the black root lump of our plant that we’ve been talking to and loving all winter?
    And, our Christmas cactus bloomed again last week. Now if that’s not spring/Easter, I don’t know what is : )

  2. I hear you on the signs of spring, my daughter called this am to find out what the weather was where she is (near you) and we both freaked out at the below-zero stuff – in March yet! But hold on, it will come. Keep those eyes open and hopeful.

  3. kd lang rocks! Love that woman!
    also, glad you liked the hampster song! Looks liek we have some similar music tastes and definetly a weird, uh, interesting sense of humor.
    I had forgoten i was gonna post my 5! Opps! Also, got to do a recipe for Mindy and Cheesehead. :)~

Comments are closed.