The Friday 5 – Moving

Mother Laura has got the 5 this week and she says…
We are right in the middle of a move–only twenty minutes away, but
we’re still a mix of busy, excited, nervous and surprisingly full of
grief about what we’re leaving, for me at least. So this week’s Friday
Five asks about your experience of the marvels and madness of moving…

1. How many times have you moved?  When was the last time?
The last time I moved was Memorial Day weekend 2006, and when I say the last time – I really mean the last time. Never ever again. (God willing) I have moved over 30 times in my life. It took me a long time to stop looking elsewhere for something that is right here, a long time to stop running from the luggage I would always carry with me. But – it sure was fun, and I don’t regret a single minute of it.

2. What do you love and hate about moving?
Love: New! New! New! I love unpacking and finding a ‘home’ for all the little things in my life.
Hate: Packing the kitchen. It is an endless task of trying to handle fragile things and pack things that don’t fit in to boxes. How annoying.

3. Do you do it yourself or hire movers?
I have finally come to the age where a move cannot be handled with some friends, some beer and pizza and a huge thank you at the end. Hire it done.

4. Advice for surviving and thriving during a move?
This too shall pass.

5. Are you in the middle of any inner moves, if not outer ones?
Always. Always got the ‘inner moves’ happenin’. Some are more significant than others, and I would be shocked if I ever answered no to this question.

Bonus: Share a piece of music/poetry/film/book that expresses something about what moving means to you.
I will never forget the day that I left the virgin islands. I was… sad doesn’t even start to describe it. I felt wrecked, defeated, ashamed. This was the tape in my walkman. This is the song I played over and over. My life I thought was over, and little did I know getting on that plane, that it was just about to begin again, never to be the same, EVER. This song holds so much for me, for a million and one reasons.
(this is the best of what I could find on You Tube.)

7 thoughts on “The Friday 5 – Moving

  1. “This too shall pass” is about what my moving advice was too. I think our beer-pizza-can-we-borrow-your-truck days are over too – for better and for worse. Thanks for the play!

  2. Oh, a wonderful play! Thank you, especially for “This too shall pass” – with its corollary from Mother Julian, “All will be well.”
    Happy Friday,
    warriormare

  3. “It took me a long time to stop looking elsewhere for something that is right here, a long time to stop running from the luggage I would always carry with me. But – it sure was fun, and I don’t regret a single minute of it.”
    Wow. I love that!

Comments are closed.