Word Association F5

Singing Owl says:

I am feeling like playing hooky, (me too!) and I'm putting off sermon prep till tomorrow (this is not a part of what I do, write sermons that is, and glad cause this weeks lectionary looks like a doozy!). It is a beautiful, sunny day at my place (here as well). So come on outside and let's play a summer Friday Five! Think summer……are you there? Below you will find five words or phrases. Tell us the first thing you think of on reading each one. Your response might be simply another word, or it might be a sentence, a poem, a memory, a recipe, or a story. You get the idea:

1. rooftop

The roofers will hopefully, please oh please oh please oh PUH-leeeze be done at my house today. We just got a new metal roof for the house. Standing seam, fully recycle-able, and the kind of roof you ONLY DO ONCE. I love it. And can't wait to just stand back and bask in its awesomeness and say good bye to my roofers.
2. gritty
The inside of my garage, from a whole winter of non-cleaning. My fave project of the spring / summer – clean and organize the garage. And when the roofers are gone, I can start!
3. hot town (yeah, I know, it's two words)
Minneapolis. Minneapolis is I think one of the most under appreciated places in the country. I love it here. Its beautiful, the air is clean, the restaurants are great, great trails and places to walk. The art and theater scene is awesome. Lots of summer festivals. I could go on. I live in a very HOT town.
4. night
 
5. dance
This post. So good, so fun, so gonna happen.
Happy solstice, summer, and weekend everyone!

10 thoughts on “Word Association F5

  1. It seems many of us are thinking videos today. Nice one. πŸ™‚
    And I agree that Minneapolis is an underrated, very cool…um…hot city.
    Thanks for playing along with me.

  2. 1. Rooftop: going to the roof of the Orpheum Theatre in Minneapolis to watch a band play on the street below.
    2. Gritty: how I feel after a full day at Disneyland in the summer.
    3. Hot Town: Ditto on Mpls. LA’s a pain in the ass. Mpls is and always will be home.
    4. Night: cool ocean breezes after a hot day, clear skies, when my body breathes easiest.
    5. Dance: odd for a 40+ yr old white girl who’s never done E (or pretty much any other drug), but my absolute favorite kind of music. Club, trance, techno, whatever. It’s the musical score for my brain, not my body.
    XOX
    SW

  3. I so agree about Minneapolis, and I’ll be there next week! I’m excited about seeing the two of my children who live there, but also going to Little T’s and Christos, my “old” church, and who knows what else?

  4. 1. rooftop. It should always be surrounded by trees. I love to see rooftops peeking out of trees.
    2. Gritty. It means it times to sweep the hardwoods.
    3. Hot town. I’ve never been to Mineapolis, but I will say its pretty hot down here.
    4. Night. I love the peace of night, it lets you hide from your daily problems.
    5. Dance. You can never dance too much.

Comments are closed.