Friday 5 – A holiday edition

Awwww… this is cute. Sally is doing the 5 this week. And she is our good friend from across the pond. *waves* Hi Sally!

Anyway, here we go, a Friday 5: 4th of July edition. She says…

I have to admit that I am chuckling to myself a little; how strange it seems for me a Brit to be posting the Friday Five on 4th July! I realise that most of our revgals will be celebrating in some way today, but I hope that you can make a little room for Friday Five! From my short stay in Texas my memories of the celebrations are of fireworks and picnics, one year we went in to central Houston to watch the fireworks and hear the Symphony Orchestra play, we were welcomed and included, and that meant a lot! So lets have a bit of fun:

1. Barbeque’s or picnics ( or are they essentially the same thing?)

They CAN be the same thing, or totally different. Sweetie and I will be headed to the annual barbeque at a friends house, with a new rice salad as our offering. The party is always: outside, fun, potluck, ridiculous, hilarious, and a fantastic reminder of how blessed we are with such great friends. 

2. The park/ the lake/ the beach or staying at home simply being?

I am just not a girl of tradition (other than going to the bbq). This year, we’re at Sweeties cabin, on a lake, enjoying the pure bliss of it all.

3. Fireworks- love ’em or hate ’em?
The big ones that go boom in the sky, I really like them. Ooohhhs and ahhhhs = good times. The little ones that my neighbors light all night every night for the last week and the month to come, no thanks. I could do without those.

4. Parades- have you ever taken part- share a memory…
Not a 4th of July parade, just the parade that happens the weekend before. The big QUEER one. Oh how I love a parade though!

5. Time for a musical interlude- if you could sum up holidays in a piece of music what would it be?

4 thoughts on “Friday 5 – A holiday edition

  1. Oh my goodness!!! I love the muppets! I’ve never seen this and I listed the Stars & Stripes Forever as my favorite music too. Have fun at the cabin.

  2. 1. BBQ
    2. Any of the above with the fewest people. I love nature, I hate crowds.
    3. Love them
    4. Hate them, its always hot and I get stuck next to someone who forgot their deoderant.
    5. MUPPETS ROCK!

Comments are closed.