Don’t look at the lady behind the curtain – A Friday Five

Its taken me some time, its a kind of a spiritual practice of sorts really. I am practicing being where I am in the moment, living in the now. Its not easy. You see I have been a really crappy community participant in my favorite ring of bloggy friends, the RevGals. (And with other friends, can’t lie.) So – in looking at this Friday 5, I was not sure – to play or not to play. But I am starting afresh, again, *waving* hello to my freinds and acquaintences, and being a better blogger, right… now.

So with that, I give you a peek behind the curtain, a look into my bloggy mind, with this weeks Friday 5.

  1. So how did you come up with your blogging name? And/or the name of your blog?

The answer is in my tag line. I have always dreamed of opening my own pub/restaurant/bar/late night joint. The Swandive is the name of the place. It all started when I was bartending at the Sugar Mill in St. Thomas in the USVI. A guy from Northfield MN, living in St. Thomas, taught me all I could ever hope to learn about bartending. He was an amazing mentor. He told me that every barkeep should have their own signature drink. I called my little concoction the Swandive. Its like a traditional sex-on-the-beach with an added secret, a kick in the ass. They taste so good, but beware, two is plenty. Three is danger. So yummy.

    2.   Are there any code names or secret identities in your blog? Any stories there?

My one and only, Sweetie. No secrets, just her ‘other’ name (in addition to the two people already know her as). Everyone else is either ‘out’ because of their own blog choosing (*waves* Hi Princess!) or gets an initial. But really – I try not to talk about those who would identify themselves in a post.

    3.   What are some blog titles that you just love? For their cleverness, drama, or sheer, crazy fun?

    4.   What three blogs are you devoted to? Other than the RevGalBlogPals blog of course!

These are the blogs that I try to visit the most often, that teach me much, whos authors are almost always in my prayers.

    5.   Who introduced you to the world of blogging and why?

I am not sure who introduced me to it. I just remember finding my voice. I have never been a good journaler, you know pick up an empty moleskin and just write write write. But here, I can keep it up, write to myself, to others, make things pretty, rant, dream, share. *Wave* to friends, near and far, people can find out how I am, what I am up to. I love it.

Bonus question: Have you ever met any of your blogging friends? Where are some of the places you’ve met these fun folks?

My favorite blog meet has been my good friend Sarcastic Lutheran. She is funny, honest, smart smart smart, she has stayed in my home, cooked me the most amazing pancakes, loved me, and I adore her. She is birthing a new church, called me the other day and told me she wishes that I lived closer, so I could join her church. Meeeeee too.

I love my friend at Hudson’s Notebook. I have met him in person. He is more beautiful in person, as I think we all are, than he is on his blog, which I think is saying alot. His writing, his poems, his heart – I am often in awe.

I really look forward to meeting ChoralGirl – being local and all. So FUN! And she is a killer scrabulous player.

I can’t wait to meet Princess M. Oh my list could go on and on!

Happy Friday ya’ll! (81 days smoke free, and my big birthday on Sunday, look for an upcoming post about a new georgeous tattoo soon)

12 thoughts on “Don’t look at the lady behind the curtain – A Friday Five

  1. Great play and congrats on being smoke free! Not easy at all and I applaud you! Is it coincidence that you dream of owning a dive and I dream of being a lounge singer in a dive? Perhaps a convergence of dreams is in order. Happy birthday on Sunday. I’ll be walking in our SF AIDS Walk and I’ll think of you!

  2. Your blog title is so good. I like the way you presented yourself at the beginning of this post.
    I’ll come back and check out the various links you recommended. Thanks.

  3. Dear Rachel,
    I am humbled by your words, and deeply touched by your prayers.
    I will tell your readers who have not, as I have, had the great privilge to meet you in person, that you are beautiful. In so many ways.
    I call you friend.
    Love,
    Hudson

  4. Someday for sure Sally. Thanks Tiffany – holy crap so glad to meet you – you are HI-larious over at your place! So awesome and have a great time this weekend. So glad to have you here Jan.
    HM, ___________. Wow. Thank you.
    *waves*
    Hi everyone!

  5. I heart you right back.
    And I wish Max would blog more too… and as I’m just about to type the words “I’m trying,” the voice of Yoda echoes in my fevered little pea-brain,
    “No trying! Blog, or blog not. There is no ‘try’.”
    yours in the struggle,
    max

  6. Rachel, I love your storytelling… and I’d love to taste a “Swandive” one day!
    Blessings on 81 days: that rocks!! And I hope your birthday was awesome.
    Pax, C.

Comments are closed.