Friday 5 – Labor Daybor

SingingOwl gives the 5 for this Friday, here we go!

Here in the USA we are celebrating the last fling of the good ol’ summertime. It is Labor Day weekend, and families are camping, playing in the park, swimming, grilling hotdogs in the backyard, visiting amusement parks and zoos and historical sites and outdoor concerts and whatever else they can find to help them extend summer’s sun and play just a little bit longer.

It is supposed to also be a celebration of the working man and woman, the backbone of the American economy, the “salt-of-the-earth” neices and nephews of Uncle Sam. With apologies to those in other countries, this is a Friday Five about LABOR. All can play. Put down that hammer, that spoon, that rolling pin, that rake, that pen, that commentary, that lexicon, and let’s have some fun.

1. Tell us about the worst job you ever had.

Nuff said.

2. Tell us about the best job you ever had.
I managed and did books for one of the best restaurants in Minneapolis, the Bryant-Lake Bowl. I worked with the best boss, Luna. I worked with some of my most favorite people of all time – they were and became my family. We worked hard, and played hard. I secretly wish that the owner would call me and offer me a job again. I’d go back.

3. Tell us what you would do if you could do absolutely anything (employment related) with no financial or other restrictions.

I would drive cab here in the Twin Cities OR I would offer to be a personal chauffer / driver here at home, and for vacations in Ireland. (I rock as a personal driver Ireland)

4. Did you get a break from labor this summer? If so, what was it and if not, what are you gonna do about it?

Summer ramps up here in Minnesota. I did get a week off for my birthday, which was good times. But mostly – the summer here is all about house projects, honey-do lists, and being out out out while the weather is amazing, and the gardens are blooming. Its work, but the payoff is HUGE.

5. What will change regarding your work as summer morphs into fall? Are you anticipating or dreading?

There is so much change happening at my workplace. I am entirely optimistic and hopeful, and filled with a bit of anticipation. (This is me telling myself that it will be awesome and to get rid of my thoughts that are fearful and not quite dread. Just looking forward, right into the belly of change. That and all of the normal ramping up that the fall schedule always brings in church-y work.)

Fun times. I am off to the best way to spend the Labor Day weekend, go to the Minnesota State Fair (the greatest state fair ever). Have a great weekend, and catch up with you RevGals later tonight!

8 thoughts on “Friday 5 – Labor Daybor

  1. I’d love to see the Chuck E. Cheese pic too. I don’t drive, so I always escaped the birthday parties held there (I’m not sure we ever did it but I know the kids went to some). So, I’d love to hire you as my personal chauffeur if I ever win the Powerball! And we could go to Ireland too.

  2. I am not sure if I have a photo of me in the Chuck E. gear, but I will look, and post if I can find one. I know that I have a picture of another job, which some of you would not believe. It was like hooters. Yeah. I worked at a like-hooters joint. Again, for like 3+ years. Another lifetime.

  3. OK so this is just too weird…last night on Drive-ins Diners and Dives…guess what is featured???? Bryant-Lake Bowl…then not ten minutes later on some other program….my icky sandwich place is featured. How strange is that. The past…she lives!

Comments are closed.