at 25




Do you remember turning 25?
What wise words would you offer to yourself at that age?  If you are younger than 25, what are you looking forward to when you reach such a 'ripe ol' age' as 25 hopes to be?

Happy Birfday binky
My baby sister turned 25 today. I can hardly believe it. 

When I was depressed, 17 and suicidal, (baby sister would have been 5) I made a deal with myself. I would live until I was old enough to drink with my younger siblings. (Funny thing, neither one of them drink) Both of them had to be at least 21, and after that, I would re-evaluate, see if living was something I really wanted to do. I was not a very happy person back then (oh really Captain Obvious?). I am really glad that I made that decision, for what has followed since then has been an amazing journey. 

I can't imagine my life without her. She is my rock, my foundation, my greatest source of pride. She is beautiful and smart and funny. She is kind and generous. She is the most christian-not-christian I have ever met. She teaches me more about grace and love and Jesus than almost anyone I know. 

Baby sister, a poem for you, for your birthday. It reminds me of something you would say to me. You are wise beyond your years, and I love you more than words. Don't ever let go.


The Way It Is, by William Stafford
 
There’s a thread you follow. It goes among
things that change.  But it doesn’t change.
People wonder about what you are pursuing.
You have to explain about the thread.
But it is hard for others to see.
While you hold it you can’t get lost.
Tragedies happen; people get hurt
or die; and you suffer and get old.
Nothing you do can stop time’s unfolding.
You don’t ever let go of the thread.
 

3 thoughts on “at 25

  1. Thank GOD for sisters. Mine keeps me on track too. I’m glad you made a deal with yourself. Long ago, with probably the same feelings you had, I decided that if one person would be hurt by my leaving I couldn’t hurt the one person who loved me. I’ve never looked back. Somewhere I hope there is a really good reason for that. It might have already happened, it might be coming, but I know there was a reason.

Comments are closed.