I can see clearly now aka Friday 5

Its been a long time, and a heartfelt hello and happy holidays to the RevGals stopping by to say hi. And to you too – gentle reader. Happy Friday.

There is a great deal going on with me lately: lots of good poems, energy and love being lobbed my way. You know who you are, oh ones who have showered me with your lavish love. Thank you, from the top and bottom of my heart. More on that later. For now, we have a RevGalBlogPal Friday 5 that caught my 'eye' and I thought today was a good day for playing. Here we go… Sophia says

Friday Five: Windows of the Soul

This
Friday Five is inspired by my husband's Lasik surgery yesterday….He'd
been contemplating it for kind people at the eye clinic figured out a way to divvy
up the charges between surgery and followup in January=next year's
spending account). So please say a little prayer for his safe recovery
and share with us your thoughts on eyes and vision.
a while and was pushed over the edge by the
fact that we put too much money in our healthcare spending account this
year and it would have been gone anyway. (There was only enough for one
eye, but the

1. What color are your beautiful eyes? Did you inherit them from or pass them on to anyone in your family?
My eyes are blue blue blue and were a gift from both my mother and father. My mom's were always on the hazel side of blue, my dads as deep as the ocean – with a thousand tales of the sea behind them.

2. What color eyes would you choose if you could change them?
I don't think I would, but if I could I would enhance the baby blues, to the shade of the beautiful water that can be found in The Baths in Virgin Gorda in the BVI.

3. Do you wear glasses or contacts? What kind? Like 'em or hate 'em?
I wish I wore glasses! Best accessory ever.I am trying to vicariously live through Sweetie, dragging her all over the place to spend spend spend that flex money on some new super cute glasses. *sigh* The grass is always greener, right?

4. Ever had, or contemplated, laser surgery? Happy with the results?
No, 20/20 vision here, but again, Sweetie is thinking about it. Can't wait to read what others are saying about this!

5. Do you like to look people in the eye, or are you more eye-shy?
I love looking into peoples eyes. As a matter of fact, every once in a while you come across someone whom for whatever reason, often unknown, you see, really really see (and are seen) and meet someone. I met such a person at the Great Emergence, at the hyphenated event. It was strange, it felt like I have known him for a thousand years, and it was all in the eyes. And his smile.

Boo 020
 Bonus question: Share a poem, song, or prayer that relates to eyes and seeing.
It is only with one's heart that one can see clearly. What is essential is invisible to the eye. – Antoine de Saint-Exupery (from The Little Prince)

 So this is the very first thing that came to my mind. The first time I ever read the quote was, I think, as soon as I was able to read. It is included in a piece of artwork in the home I grew up in, at my dad's house.

Much later a former partner and I re-read the book together with his niece and I fell in love all over again. So much so, I got it inked on me. Its the tattoo I show the least. But, I love it. It connects and reminds me of my family: My dad the planet, my mom the star and the flowers my siblings. And me, the curious little prince. I think I'll pick it up again and re-read it to my beloved and see what else the story offers.

8 thoughts on “I can see clearly now aka Friday 5

  1. Welcome home from Memphis! Heard it a was a good gig – lookin’ forward to hearing more.
    1) Brown from my dad – his are darker – both my sons have darker brown eyes than mine. Could have something to do with their dad, who has brown eyes, too.
    2)Gold with a rich brown line at the edges of the iris
    3 & 4)Glasses, contacts, cheaters – they’re all a pain in the ass but I’m terrified and terrorized by the thought of eye surgery
    5) Look ’em in the eye, unless it’s culturally disrespectful – but I still peek!

  2. You’re the first person I know without glasses that wants some! (Well, except for my son when he was six–he kind of cheated on the vision test to get them. And he did look awfully cute–doesn’t wear them any more though).

  3. Blue (sometimes sorta grey-ish), from dad, glasses only driving @ night, no Lasik, and damn skippy I look people in the eye (never been accused of being shy).
    Fave quote:
    And now good morrow to our waking souls
    which watch not one another out of fear;
    for love – all love – of other sights controls,
    and makes one little room
    an everywhere
    – John Donne, The Good Morrow

Comments are closed.