a question to my non-christian, un-church-ified friends

As many of you know, I have a deep adoration and love for church culture, politics, books, trends, and general what-nottery. I follow the church, theology, God-talk.  Mainly my interest has laid in young adults in the Episcopal Church, but more recently it has focused on fresh expressions/emerging(emergent) conversations. Yeah, some people follow football. Me, church.

So here's the thing. I guess I want to ask you, because I know I don't have objectivity, what do you think when you hear this? Please comment.

See more at The Work of the People, here.

(and if you can't see this because you are using IE click here)

8 thoughts on “a question to my non-christian, un-church-ified friends

  1. HMMM. Now I’m a christian, married to a jew living in an un-churchified home. I’m not sure if you are asking about content or delivery but I liked the delivery style. It was intriguing in a way that might interest people who would normally not be interested. I also am atypical in my approach to religion and prefer to think of myself as more spiritual than religious.
    Me personally because I’m a dork will say I loved listening to the accent.

  2. I would probably consider myself a bit of a nihilist/former-xian…but…i still resonate with what pete says. Obviously, this is just one interpretation of many, of which is the best way to engage with sacred texts, and with religious discourse…but, this one in particular, is one that I find quite pleasant and edifying. I definitely think you will find more of this kind of engagement in particular jewish traditions, and not as much in xian traditions…and maybe what pete is doing, is simply, trying to learn from some jewish thought, and adding it into the xian discourse he is engaged in.
    good stuff…and i loved the filming style…it suited the way pete tells stories.

  3. *sigh* I will answer for you, because I love you, Rae (religion is one of those things I rarely discuss).
    First, I will completely dork out with Dijea over the accent. Now that’s out of the way, I liked the story he told, and found the speaker and his ideas interesting. Was he the piece of art that compelled me to return multiple times to wrestle with the message? Probably not.
    My adult belief system is one that says faith is a fantastic thing – it brings us comfort, it unites, it is the best of what and who we are. Generally speaking, religion really mucks up the works. It is divisive, controlling, hypocritical and – in some cases – outright corrupt.
    While I appreciate that the rabbis in the parable were able to get together each day to “wrestle” with the passage, and had the gumption to tell God himself to sod off, one of my first thoughts was, “really? for 20 years y’all couldn’t find something else to talk about? ANYTHING else?”
    Yeah, that heavy sigh you just heard? That’s God shaking his head at me. But I know he loves me anyway. And despite my cynical, blasphemous, heathen tendencies, I take great comfort in that thought. I don’t need religion. I have faith.
    That’s just MHO.
    XOX
    SW

  4. Hey D, thanks for the link! And welcome Raindog, thanks for popping over. I too really liked the filming style.
    SW, my dear dear friend, THANK YOU. I so love and appreciate each sound of your words and heart. “really, for 20 years?” Brilliant.
    Thank you, all, from the bottom of my heart.

  5. Okay, I loved the guys accent, his delivery style, and the filiming. Very well done.
    Now, not being the slightest bit “ious” or “ian” (I’m athiest) I think I can still identify with the root message.
    That is, to wrestle with your beliefs in life, weather they be religious, personal or scientific.
    Advances in ALL areas of human development come when people ‘wrestle’ with the norm. ‘wrestle’ with what they have been tought. When they try new things, go in new directions, look at things in a new way. That’s what helps people do indvidually understand things and helps others to understand.
    So often discoveries in science and advancements in the arts are made by people who “wrestled” with what the text books/everyone else said and went their own way.
    Heck, after 400 years, the Vatican finally “wrestled” with the ideal that Galileo Galilei wasn’t a heratic, and was actually a man of faith/god
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28371902/
    I can only hope that future advances in religion, science and the arts won’t take 400 years to be recongized by all parties!

  6. Sorry but I’m not hearing anything I haven’t heard before. I’d love Irish storytelling and am wondering why these stories don’t root themselves in Belfast. There’s something to be said for us grounding our experience in concrete reality based on our lives versus abstract stories.

  7. Thanks Mary and Random. And thanks for the link to the msnbc piece.
    Thanks for stopping by Mary! So glad to have your voice. I can’t say because I am not from Belfast, but I taking Peter on the whole I think his philosophy is rooted firmly in the place that he is from.
    But firmly agreed – context and place does, should, always inform and form our stories and parables and art.
    Thanks – and welcome!

Comments are closed.