we got our dirty little fingers in everybodys pie

Dirty little secrets
Dirty little lies
We got our dirty little fingers in everybodys pie
We love to cut you down to size
We love dirty laundry

My mom used to love the song "Dirty Laundry" by Don Henley. Lately, its the song that has been Tedh
rattling around in my head. I mean between Rick Warren being chosen as the opening "pray-er" for the presidential inauguration (love this quote/response), the Pope – this time equating gays and trannies to rainforests that are in dire need of saving, and Ted Haggard now saying he never claimed to be hetero. What?

This little firestorm of talking about sexuality has seemed to set the blog-o-sphere on fire, and lots of places I lurk – like here and here and here – are having really interesting conversations. But here is what keeps smacking my between the eyeballs.

When I read the comments going back and forth, many people keep talking about and for them it seems to boil down to homosexual behavior. Behavior. Is this what we are all up in arms about? My behavior? The thing is my behavior – my day to day life – looks so much like everyone else. (Look I am not stupid, I know you want to talk about my behavior, as it relates to my sex life. And that, without being too graphic, does not look much different from you either.)

The firestorm of back and forth, it just seems like everyone keeps digging their heels in deeper. Everyone is taking their battle positions. Daily almost my heart breaks because of what people are saying to each other. I don't think they would if they knew, like really were in relationship with, someone who is "other" than them. AND this goes both ways. I have so many more thoughts on this, and will continue to write, but for now:

For a child has been born for us, a son given to us; authority rests
upon his shoulders; and he is named Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

3 thoughts on “we got our dirty little fingers in everybodys pie

Comments are closed.