a few lessons from the big screen

Slumdog
I saw Slumdog Millionaire this past weekend, and have been contemplating it ever since. A stunning masterpiece of a film, my new favorite for best picture (yes, even over MILK which I adore), I can't shake some of the images and bits of wisdom. I will see it again, but really wanted to get a few things down before I lose them.

  1. Sometimes you literally have to dive head long into the shit (and OWN it) to get at what you are after.
  2. The nice guy often does finish last. But what is lastβ€”reallyβ€”in the kingdom sense?
  3. Being last does not mean worst. Let the story unfold. Don't judge the moment, the minute, the week, day, month or year.
  4. There really is something to be said for single-minded focus, determination, gumption and just plain heart.
  5. Beauty is everywhere, especially where we perceive it is not or could not be. Look there for it.

Have you seen it?
What do you think? What would you add to the list?

8 thoughts on “a few lessons from the big screen

  1. i think there’s something in there as well about history meaning something. that after years of separation (and puberty), jamal knew latika when he saw her (and vice versa). that kind of visceral heart knowledge is so powerful.
    also, the conflicted nature of salim’s personality. he rescues, he betrays. he kills, he releases. a pretty accurate picture of the human condition.
    and finally…dancing = a good idea.

  2. I really need to see this one somehow. May have to go to Portland since I didn’t get to Edina while in the TCs. And didn’t get to meet you either! But we hope to make a summer visit too. I did see MILK and liked it a lot, a bit of a hagiography but so inspiring and reminding of how far we’ve come, and how far yet to go.

  3. ok, well, look like you just made my plans for some night this week. πŸ˜‰
    wish i could be inbetween you and karen at the theater….
    is this going to make me cry?? i have been avoiding marley and me!!!

Comments are closed.