The Sweet Bi and Bi :: Welcome

Welcome.

Welcome to this idea that has been brewing for quite some time now; the pot feels ready for pouring. Over at my other blog every six months or so, I would ponder aloud whether it was time to start another one. For just over two years I have hymned and hawed over what this voice wanted to say, but it did not have a name. Until now.

Recently another new blog has arrived, Queermergent. And I think it was this blog that has finally pushed me and at the same time pulled out this thing that has been doing its dance in my mind and heart.

I am a queer christian who, though I dance with the Episcopal and Lutheran tribes, feels ever more family, ever more close with those communities and collectives that are less defined by denomination and more defined by their friendships and conversations that include the Holy One. Specifically:

  1. I identify as bisexual. I have known there was something (other) about me since I was in 4th grade, but did not come out until 1993 (read: MUCH later). Quickly, this means for me that it is not so much the parts on the car, but that the car itself is drive-able, reliable, and attractive. (I think I will look back on this an shake my head.)
  2. I find my heart begins to sing when I read people like Brian McLaren, Doug Pagitt, Tony Jones, Nadia Bolz Weber, Phyllis Tickle, and Peter Rollins. (this is my short list, there are more)
  3. It is because of my friendships with some of these people, as well as many others, that I have come to believe there is A Christianity Worth Believing in. And I think it has been described (not defined) in some of these peoples’ words and our conversations.
  4. I believe my whole person — mind, body, spirit — are and were created by G-d, and G-d called them / is calling / continues to call the whole of me good.

So this blog will mostly be about these things and more: What does it mean to be queer in a conversation (in the christian church, mainly emergent and some mainline others) where I am constantly looking around wondering if there are others like me? Why does my voice, the one G-d has given me, matter? What gifts can I bring? What can I learn from what others are saying? How can I be a part of a larger conversation that moves people from a place of hostility or one-sidedness to genuine dialog? What about my being a bisexual — wholly living into the idea that Alfred Kinsey talks about (below, ht Becky Knight) — can offer something to the wider church about the beauty of the Spirit, the beauty of love, the beauty of gray?

In his ground-breaking 1948 book Sexual Behavior in the Human Male, Alfred Kinsey wrote:

Males do not represent two discrete populations, heterosexual and homosexual. The world is not to be divided into sheep and goats. Not all things are black nor all things white. It is a fundamental of taxonomy that nature rarely deals with discrete categories. Only the human mind invents categories and tries to force facts into separated pigeon-holes. The living world is a continuum in each and every one of its aspects. The sooner we learn this concerning human sexual behavior the sooner we shall reach a sound understanding of the realities of sex. (p. 639)

It is my belief that being who I am, a Child of G-d, queer bisexual, (enter the myriad descriptors of who I am here) that I hope to offer some thoughts to the conversation.

So welcome to you. Welcome.

We shall sing on that beautiful shore
The melodious songs of the blest,
And our spirits shall sorrow no more
Not a sigh for the blessing of rest.

In the sweet (in the sweet)
By and by (by and by),
We shall meet on that beautiful shore;
In the sweet (in the sweet)
By and by (by and by)
We shall meet on that beautiful shore.

9 thoughts on “The Sweet Bi and Bi :: Welcome

  1. Yay! I’m first to comment on your new blog! Or at least I hope I will be if I type fast enough. Not that I’m competitive or anything…
    I’m so pleased to be reading this blog (and for the introduction to Queermergent). I suspect that I’ll be enjoying your considerable writing and thinking talents here as much as at Swandive.
    And I’m delighted with the car analogy, not because (as you know) it also describes me, but because I am renowned for car analogies in various circumstances but had never thought to apply it to this one!

  2. Rachel,

    Can I ask why you don’t put the letter “o” in the word “God?” I look forward to reading future posts.

    Randy

  3. Yea! Thanks Tess, it is SO good to see a familiar and beautiful name to begin the journey, thank you. Randy! So good to see you here. For some initial thoughts, http://tinyurl.com/cwhpdy and http://www.jewfaq.org/name.htm.

    For me, not being Jewish, it is the spirit of deep respect and awe that I have for G-d. And a desire always to never take the many names of G-d, in vain. Thanks for the question. And so glad to have you here.

  4. In youth ministry I find that the toughest hurdle that young people face on their faith journey is trying to reconcile their image of God that was cultivated through whatever their childhood experience may have been, with the questions they have as their abstract discerning processes develop. Confining “God” to a word, a name, an image, and assumption is some presumptively human. Helping liberate young people from naming that which Is, helping them imagine the possibilities rather than remain stuck in the confines of definitions, is our hardest work as religious mentors.
    Clearly there’s a blog entry brewing in me on this one. Sorry to use your space – but thanks for indulging and extrovert in her outward process on a birthday night. LOVE the new blog.
    XXOO BCS

  5. Awesome quote by Kinsey. If only our schools would teach Kinsey and Desmond Morris(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desmond_Morris), rather than simply Darwin.

    My only amendment to his great work would be to modify the statement slightly….

    “Human sexual behavior” does not represent into two discrete populations….

    Great start to this site. I promise to visit both as often as I can.

    No, I’m STILL Not on facebook! *lol*.

    P.S. I’ve got a little girl coming on June 15th, I’ll email you the details!

Comments are closed.