love both ways

LOVE

LOVE

“The time has come, I think, when we must recognize bisexuality as a normal form of human behavior. . . we shall not really succeed in discarding the straitjacket of our cultural beliefs about sexual choice if we fail to come to terms with the well-documented, normal human capacity to love members of both sexes.” Margaret Mead (1975)

Its an amazing thing to me. In 1975, I was 4. I am now 30-hmm-hmm years older, and still (or perhaps just now) we are engaging this concept of capacity for love.

For me, love is as natural as breathing, as necessary as light to a newly budding tree. As the news continues heat up all over the country and world–about marriage and same gender love and its perceived right and wrongness–let us remember we are created for one thing. Love.

To love G-d, and each other. Period. That is our call and duty and privilege. Some just have a wider and more expansive capacity to love, in the various forms that we are given by G-d to show love.

3 thoughts on “love both ways

  1. “As natural as breathing” – yes indeed, well said.

    I hadn’t read this Margaret Mead quote before, even though I was somewhat older than 4 when she said it!

  2. So good to see you my friend, I enjoyed the quote as well. You? Older than me, no way! Your youthful smile and beautiful face that lights up the blog-o-sphere–no way! đŸ˜‰

  3. Wow, 1975. We grow slowly. Maybe one day instead of repressing, we’ll look around and no one will not know someone who is open about loving. Culture is so frustrating sometimes.

Comments are closed.