Pop Theology or how I found God via email forwards

Godchains This morning, I got an email from a friend, who only sends me "God forwards" as I like to call them. You know, if you don't send this email or powerpoint to all your friends, Jesus will cry and He will really know how you feel about Him, and I mean you ARE a friend of Jesus, right?? I know I really should say something to my friend, I but haven't yet. I knew from the title "Awesome_powerpoint" that it would be really something. I also knew that if I opened it and watched it, my eyes would roll around in my head, my heart would break a little further, and I  would feel just a twinge more outraged at our churches (yes, that includes me) for once again Godzapperpetuating the cycle of email/pop theology by not offering a better story, by not speaking to this world of weird ass email forward theology.

Friends, if this is the God you worship, please let me know. I would love to talk to you. Really. I am not kidding. Not to convince you otherwise, but to have a conversation, laugh, share a cup of coffee and talk about what you really believe. I could be way off, but something tells me–this–is not really it.

Watch it for yourself, here. Download Awesome_powerpoint.pps (1156.5K). Also, you will be able to watch the awesome online, shortly, by clicking here and choosing "Awesome Powerpoint" (I just set up the account so it may take a minute). **Warning, its pretty fancy, has a killer song to go along with it (you know the electronic "soothing piano" kind). Turn the sound up or down, whichever you prefer.

p.s. I DO think you are a "keeper."

One thought on “Pop Theology or how I found God via email forwards

  1. Wow. I don’t really have words for that.
    Maybe we can use this for open space at House for All during Ordinary Time. And we could give out little note pads and pencils…’cause it is pretty clear that people had better start keeping tally of the shit they do!

Comments are closed.