Intro to Queerying: Your questions, my responses

I am not confused. I am not going through a phase. I am not experimenting. I am not half gay and half straight. I am not greedy. I am not lying. I do not need to make my mind up. I am not just trying to be cool. I am certain. I'm not saying everyone is but I Am Bisexual.

I am not confused. I am not going through a phase. I am not experimenting. I am not half gay and half straight. I am not greedy. I am not lying. I do not need to make my mind up. I am not just trying to be cool. I am certain. I'm not saying everyone is but I Am Bisexual.

So, the questions are in. The responses will start next post (tomorrow). I hope to keep posting, without the really awkward delays (sorry about that), at least twice a week. There I said it out loud. Twice a week.

So here is the line up to come.

  1. How can a bi could be married (and monogamous)?
  2. Do men call themselves bi when they can’t (yet) admit they’re gay?
  3. As identifying bisexual, do you feel more accepted in the straight world or gay world? Why?
  4. Do you have two partners? Or simply attracted to both sexes?…I have always found it a bit confusing when someone married identifies themselves as bisexual. Is it just attraction or 2 actual relationships going on?
  5. Isn’t bi sort of a redundant label when you’re married and, ideally, settled with one person for the rest of your life?

If there are more–please do ask in the comments. Nothing is offensive (MB), so just shoot. And this is for those of you who might have missed what Dan posted in the comments last post. Thank you Dan. Really well said.

We have names and we have labels. I use my name so that people will know who to talk to, whose books to read, who to send the checks to, but thse are pretty much material things. As to labels, we use those to identify with a larger group, those who are not me but who have the same feelings, share the same experience, and seek many of the same things.

By identifying with others who share these similarities, we are neither alone nor abandoned. We identify ourselves with labels because we want and need not only support from others, but to give support to others as well.

Your last line hits the nail on the head for me, its why I started this space. Beautifully put.

2 thoughts on “Intro to Queerying: Your questions, my responses

  1. Love Dan’s comment about labels; I have the same sentiments. I know labels are labels but sometimes I feel the whole anti-labeling movement is extreme. How am I suppose to find community if I don’t know where to look, you know?

Comments are closed.