October: LGBT History Month

It seems October might be a great month for blog fodder—October is LGBT History month. From the official website:

In 1994, Rodney Wilson, a Missouri high school teacher, believed a month should be dedicated to the celebration and teaching of GLBT history, and gathered together other teachers and community leaders. They selected October because public schools are in session and existing traditions, such as Coming Out Day (October 11), occur then.

GLBT History Month is endorsed by GLAAD, the Human Rights Campaign, the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, the National Education Association, and other national organizations. In 2006, Equality Forum assumed responsibility for GLBT History Month.

Much of the news recently surrounding LGBTQI people has been deeply unsettling, sad and downright wrong.

I’ve been quiet lately about such things—or if I have been saying something, I’ve kept the bits and posts mostly confined to my facebook wall/audience. But I think some things deserve a little deeper reflection and perhaps a wider audience. So, I signed up for the updates from http://www.glbthistorymonth.com and am challenging myself to post some thoughts and bits that I have found there and other places that challenge, inspire, frustrate and illuminate.

I invite you to join me this month. Perhaps you have seen what I will post, perhaps some stuff will be new to you. What I am hoping is to actually do some writing and reflecting (school starts soon, I need to get back in the groove) on being queer, where I have been, and perhaps where we are headed.

First up (you’ve probably seen already): The It Gets Better project. Embedded is a contribution from our community, and linked here, and here and here are other videos I have really enjoyed. And wow – this one. Brilliant and beautiful.

5 thoughts on “October: LGBT History Month

  1. I love these videos, especially the last “wow” one. So encouraging.

    It’s depressing there’s still so much religious bigotry out there about LGBT lives and issues. But there are alternatives, and increasingly mainstream alternatives at that.

  2. Pingback: silence « The Sweet Bi and Bi

  3. Pingback: two things « The Sweet Bi and Bi

Comments are closed.